BLOG: Canned Laughter and Coffee

Office Dreams

Renee BernardFor Christmas this year, since things were so challenging, my husband and I exchanged coupons.  Overall they are usually silly promises to do housework or finish certain projects on the honey-do list, but we take the binding and contractual nature of coupons very, very seriously.  If you give someone a coupon (no expiration dates allowed) and they present that wrinkled bit of construction paper to you later—even if it’s months or years later, you better be ready to square with the house.

So this year, I was a little surprised when one of my coupons said “Office of Your Very Own”.  Wow!  My fantasies of having my very own writing room have coalesced and resurfaced from time to time, but I usually do my best to ignore them due to: a) limits of time and space, b) financial realities and c) mom guilt over the 8,000 other things
our family needs that would probably take precedence.

I’m betting there are women all over the world who know exactly what I’m saying.

However, my guilt just got trumped when smack in the middle of a book deadline/children have the flu/what do you mean where’s dinner? kind of day, I hit the wall.  I was stealing a few minutes of writing time (stealing translates as “I have a babysitter!!!  Omigod!!!!  Go for it!!!) when my husband stumbles into the bedroom (my writing corner resides in our master bedroom) and announces he’ll be taking a nap.

“Don’t you want to go into the guest room?” I ask hopefully/desperately/fearfully.

“Nope.  You just go on and do what you were doing.  I’m just going to rest my eyes for a few minutes.” Oh, god…here it comes…where are my ear plugs?  Will they work?  Maybe if I get in the zone I won’t even hear the—

ZZZZZZZZZZZZGRWFTZZZ.

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZRWGTZZZZZ.

ZZZZZZZZZZGRRRFMPHZZ.

Oh, yeah.  I’m feeling the romance now.  Wow…look at that sizzling dialogue write itself practically as I’m serenaded by—

ZZZZZZZZZZZZGRGRGRZZZZZ.

Okay.  Where’s that coupon?

P.S. For those listeners who tuned in for C.H. Admirand’s show, that low buzz in the background was…you guessed it!  😉  Little does the man know he’s immortalized now!

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

SNEAK PEEK: FOREVER THIS SUMMER BY LESLIE C. YOUNGBLOOD

0
FOREVER THIS SUMMER BY LESLIE C. YOUNGBLOOD The second book from critically acclaimed author Leslie C. Youngblood, about family, identity, and learning to stand up...

Holly Irish Book Review: Set the Stars Alight

0
Set the Stars Alight Set the Stars Alight by Amanda Dykes My rating: 5 of 5 stars This book is not what I was expecting at all! I...

Pathway to Prosperity Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/YPOhE-9jkN8 New Book Takes the Mystery Out of Money: Pathway to Prosperity Is it possible to change one’s financial destiny and legacy? Do get-rich-quick schemes...

Children’s 100 Days of Reading Bus Tour Hits the Road This Summer

0
Last month, Penguin Random House partnered with Save the Children for their annual 100 Days of Reading campaign. PRH will donate 50,000 children’s books in addition to providing...

SURF’S UP! – There’s a Book for That: Surfing

0
2021 marks the debut of surfing at the Summer Games. The best competitive surfers from all over the world will meet at Japan’s Shidashita...

Worlds End and the Sea Angle by Yankai Shi Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/hoDtXEQQO8c Graduate students David, a white man, and Emily, a student from China fall in love with each other on campus of University of Colorado at...

Amazon Launches Kindle Vella, Serialized Stories in a Mobile-First, Interactive Reading Experience

0
Thousands of serialized stories by authors including Audrey Carlan, Hugh Howey, and C. G. Cooper are now available, with the first few episodes of each story free to...

SNEAK PEEK: THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON

0
THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON A thrilling new crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and...

Holly Irish Book Review: A Stony Point Christmas

0
A Stony Point Christmas (Annie’s Attic Mysteries #21) A Stony Point Christmas by K.D. McCrite My rating: 4 of 5 stars This is a delightful story. I love...

Join The World’s Largest Digital Book Club

0
Public libraries around the globe are connecting their communities of readers together during the next Big Library Read, the world’s largest digital book club. From...