Found: A Lost Charlotte Bronte Work

L.McMaken
3-9-12
Cincinnati, OH

 

Searching the archives in a museum in Brussels, Brian Bracken a noted Bronte expert, uncovered a lost work by one of the world’s most loved authors.  While conducting research at Musee Royal de Mariemont, the archivist discovered a short story written by Bronte dated March 16, 1842. It was written during the time Charlotte and her sister, Emily were staying in Belgium.

The discovered writing was actually a  homework assignment given by her tutor Constantin Hegerand. It begins: “A rat, weary of the life of cities, and of courts (for he had played his part in the palaces of kings and in the salons of great lords), a rat whom experience had made wise, in short, a rat who from a courtier had become a philosopher, had withdrawn to his country house (a hole in the trunk of a large young elm), where he lived as a hermit devoting all his time and care to the education of his only son.”

Bracken said in an interview: “By all accounts a gifted and dedicated teacher, [Heger] gave Emily and Charlotte homework … based on texts by authors they had studied in class. They were to compose essays in French that echoed these models, and could choose their own subject matter. It [L’Ingratitude] was finished a month after Charlotte arrived in Brussels and is the first known ‘devoir’ of 30 the sisters would write for Heger. It contains a number of mistakes, mainly misspellings and incorrect tenses … he [Heger] often returned their essays drastically revised — sadly, there are no comments on this copy of L’Ingratitude.

Charlotte was only 14 years old when the story was written. The entire story can be read online in it’s entirety at The London Review of Books.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

Book Review: “Death & Sensibility” by Elizabeth Blake

0
“Death & Sensibility” is book #2 in the Jane Austin Society Mysteries. This ARC was sent to me by the author. It will be...

Join The World’s Largest Digital Book Club

0
Public libraries around the globe are connecting their communities of readers together during the next Big Library Read, the world’s largest digital book club. From...

SNEAK PEEK: THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON

0
THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON A thrilling new crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and...

Children’s 100 Days of Reading Bus Tour Hits the Road This Summer

0
Last month, Penguin Random House partnered with Save the Children for their annual 100 Days of Reading campaign. PRH will donate 50,000 children’s books in addition to providing...

PODCAST: Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell

0
Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell LISTEN HERE! With over 35 stories in print, best-selling author Monique McDonnell has fun, flirty stories to...

Holly Irish Book Review: Set the Stars Alight

0
Set the Stars Alight Set the Stars Alight by Amanda Dykes My rating: 5 of 5 stars This book is not what I was expecting at all! I...

SNEAK PEEK: IT ENDS IN FIRE BY ANDREW SHVARTS

0
IT ENDS IN FIRE BY ANDREW SHVARTS A James Patterson Presents novel Only those from the most powerful magical families can attend Blackwater Academy, but new...

Prince Harry, The Duke Of Sussex, Will Publish A Literary Memoir With Penguin Random...

0
Prince Harry, The Duke Of Sussex, Will Publish A Literary Memoir With Penguin Random House, Globally In Late 2022 Penguin Random House is honored to...

Worlds End and the Sea Angle by Yankai Shi Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/hoDtXEQQO8c Graduate students David, a white man, and Emily, a student from China fall in love with each other on campus of University of Colorado at...

Amazon Launches Kindle Vella, Serialized Stories in a Mobile-First, Interactive Reading Experience

0
Thousands of serialized stories by authors including Audrey Carlan, Hugh Howey, and C. G. Cooper are now available, with the first few episodes of each story free to...