An Inspiring Read: The Plum Tree by Ellen Marie Wiseman

February, while the shortest month of the year often seems like the longest. It is usually filled with snowy days, and overall nasty weather. If you are spending more time indoors and looking for some great books to read while sipping a hot cocoa and snuggling next to the fire, the Plum Tree is an inspiring read.

THE PLUM TREE by Ellen Marie Wiseman

In the vein of City of Women or Cold Mountain, THE PLUM TREE is an epic novel about the enduring hope of a young German woman during WWII as she struggles to survive poverty and Allied bombs, finds the courage to outwit SS officers, and tries to save the love of her life – a Jewish man. It’s a compelling novel written by a first-generation German American who puts a face on the countless destitute Germans who were victims of their government’s actions during World War II.

A deeply moving and masterfully written story of human resilience and enduring love, The Plum Tree follows a young German woman through the chaos of World War II and its aftermath.

“Bloom where you’re planted,” is the advice Christine Bölz receives from her beloved Oma. But seventeen-year-old domestic Christine knows there is a whole world waiting beyond her small German village. It’s a world she’s begun to glimpse through music, books—and through Isaac Bauerman, the cultured son of the wealthy Jewish family she works for.

Yet the future she and Isaac dream of sharing faces greater challenges than their difference in stations. In the fall of 1938, Germany is changing rapidly under Hitler’s regime. Anti-Jewish posters are everywhere, dissenting talk is silenced, and a new law forbids Christine from returning to her job—and from having any relationship with Isaac. In the months and years that follow, Christine will confront the Gestapo’s wrath and the horrors of Dachau, desperate to be with the man she loves, to survive—and finally, to speak out.

Set against the backdrop of the German homefront, this is an unforgettable novel of courage and resolve, of the inhumanity of war, and the heartbreak and hope left in its wake.

Advance Praise For Ellen Marie Wiseman’s The Plum Tree

“The Plum Tree is a touching story of heroism and loss, a testament to the strength of the human spirit and the power of love to transcend the most unthinkable circumstances. Deft storytelling and rich characters make this a highly memorable read and a worthy addition to the narratives of the Holocaust and Second World War.” –Pam Jenoff, author of The Ambassador’s Daughter

“A haunting and beautiful debut novel.” –Anna Jean Mayhew, author of The Dry Grass of August

“In The Plum Tree, Ellen Marie Wiseman boldly explores the complexities of the Holocaust. This novel is at times painful, but it is also a satisfying love story set against the backdrop of one of the most difficult times in human history.” –T. Greenwood, author of Two Rivers

About the Author:

 

Ellen Marie Wiseman was born and raised in Three Mile Bay, a tiny hamlet in Northern New York. A first generation American, Ellen has traveled frequently to visit her family in Germany, where she fell in love with the country’s history and culture. A mother of two, Ellen lives peacefully on the shores of Lake Ontario with her husband and three dogs.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,024FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,200SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

PODCAST: WITH AUTHOR SUMMER DOWELL

0
Get read for some fun, flirty escapism with author Summer Dowell LISTEN HERE!! Summer Dowell is an author of fun, feel-good chick lits and romantic comedies...

PODCAST: Traveling the world with author and journalist McGarvey Black

0
Traveling the world with author and journalist McGarvey Black LISTEN HERE!! A theatre major in college, McGarvey Black pursued an acting career for a few years. From there...

BEHIND THE WORDS: Author Lynn Blackburn

0
Welcome Lynn, we’re excited to have you on Reader’s Entertainment. First, tell our readers a bit about yourself. Where you’re from, where you live?...

2021 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction Longlist Nominees

0
The Longlist Titles are:   Bestiary by K-Ming Chang (One World) Dear Ann by Bobbie Ann Mason (HarperCollins) Disappear Doppelgänger Disappear by Matthew Salesses (Little A) The Knockout Queen by Rufi Thorpe (Alfred A. Knopf) Mother Daughter...

MEET THE AUTHOR: LAWNA MACKIE

0
FEBRUARY IS FOR ROMANCE AUTHORS! MEET LAWNA MACKIE My name is Lawna and I’m an avid romance reader and author. I wanted to share something about...

BOOK REVIEW: “THE BITTERROOTS” BY C.J. BOX

0
BOOK REVIEW: “THE BITTERROOTS” BY C.J. BOX After the events of the last book, Cassie Dewell has moved her family (mother, Isabel, and 14 year old...

SNEAK PEEK: MEANT TO BE BY JUDE DEVERAUX

0
Meant To Be by Jude Deveraux An inspiring new family saga by New York Times bestselling author Jude Deveraux Two headstrong sisters are bound by tradition but long to...

SNEAK PEEK: PIXIE TRICKS THE GREEDY GREMLIN BY TRACEY WEST / XAVIER BONET (Illustrator)

0
Tracey West's Pixie Tricks series is filled with fairies, magic, and adventure -- making it perfect for fans of her New York Times bestselling Dragon Masters...

Friday Reads: Golden Globes

0
And the award goes to… The Golden Globes are this Sunday, and 2021’s ballot is full of book adaptations! We invite you to pair your...

MEET THE AUTHOR: IRENE HANNON

0
MEET IRENE HANNON CORPORATE JET-SETTER AND AWARD WINNING ROMANCE AUTHOR Bestselling, award-winning author Irene Hannon took the publishing world by storm at the tender age of...