spot_img

An Inspiring Read: The Plum Tree by Ellen Marie Wiseman

February, while the shortest month of the year often seems like the longest. It is usually filled with snowy days, and overall nasty weather. If you are spending more time indoors and looking for some great books to read while sipping a hot cocoa and snuggling next to the fire, the Plum Tree is an inspiring read.

THE PLUM TREE by Ellen Marie Wiseman

In the vein of City of Women or Cold Mountain, THE PLUM TREE is an epic novel about the enduring hope of a young German woman during WWII as she struggles to survive poverty and Allied bombs, finds the courage to outwit SS officers, and tries to save the love of her life – a Jewish man. It’s a compelling novel written by a first-generation German American who puts a face on the countless destitute Germans who were victims of their government’s actions during World War II.

A deeply moving and masterfully written story of human resilience and enduring love, The Plum Tree follows a young German woman through the chaos of World War II and its aftermath.

“Bloom where you’re planted,” is the advice Christine Bölz receives from her beloved Oma. But seventeen-year-old domestic Christine knows there is a whole world waiting beyond her small German village. It’s a world she’s begun to glimpse through music, books—and through Isaac Bauerman, the cultured son of the wealthy Jewish family she works for.

Yet the future she and Isaac dream of sharing faces greater challenges than their difference in stations. In the fall of 1938, Germany is changing rapidly under Hitler’s regime. Anti-Jewish posters are everywhere, dissenting talk is silenced, and a new law forbids Christine from returning to her job—and from having any relationship with Isaac. In the months and years that follow, Christine will confront the Gestapo’s wrath and the horrors of Dachau, desperate to be with the man she loves, to survive—and finally, to speak out.

Set against the backdrop of the German homefront, this is an unforgettable novel of courage and resolve, of the inhumanity of war, and the heartbreak and hope left in its wake.

Advance Praise For Ellen Marie Wiseman’s The Plum Tree

“The Plum Tree is a touching story of heroism and loss, a testament to the strength of the human spirit and the power of love to transcend the most unthinkable circumstances. Deft storytelling and rich characters make this a highly memorable read and a worthy addition to the narratives of the Holocaust and Second World War.” –Pam Jenoff, author of The Ambassador’s Daughter

“A haunting and beautiful debut novel.” –Anna Jean Mayhew, author of The Dry Grass of August

“In The Plum Tree, Ellen Marie Wiseman boldly explores the complexities of the Holocaust. This novel is at times painful, but it is also a satisfying love story set against the backdrop of one of the most difficult times in human history.” –T. Greenwood, author of Two Rivers

About the Author:

 

Ellen Marie Wiseman was born and raised in Three Mile Bay, a tiny hamlet in Northern New York. A first generation American, Ellen has traveled frequently to visit her family in Germany, where she fell in love with the country’s history and culture. A mother of two, Ellen lives peacefully on the shores of Lake Ontario with her husband and three dogs.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,083FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

2022 BOOKS LIKE US First Novel Contest, hosted by Simon & Schuster

0
he Simon & Schuster adult trade imprint is pleased to announce the second annual BOOKS LIKE US First Novel Contest to facilitate accessibility to...

SNEAK PEEK: Peanut Butter Panic by Amanda Flower

0
Peanut Butter Panic by Amanda Flower In the seventh of fan-favorite Amanda Flower’s USA Today bestselling Amish Candy Shop Mysteries, Thanksgiving has come to Harvest, Ohio. But...

Master of Horror R.L. Stine Puts His Twist on Legendary Monsters in STUFF OF...

0
Discover the First Original Comic Book Series From ‘Fear Street’ & ‘Goosebumps’ Author in September 2022 BOOM! Studios announced today STUFF OF NIGHTMARES, a brand new...

SNEAK PEEK: A Certain Darkness by Anna Lee Huber

0
A Certain Darkness by Anna Lee Huber Set in Downton Abbey-era post-war England, and featuring indomitable heroine Verity Kent, this action-packed series from Anna Lee...

DARK HORSE PRESENTS ‘SHOCK SHOP’ A FLIP COMIC HORROR ANTHOLOGY SERIES

0
Venture into a haunted comic book shop for tales of terror! Cullen Bunn (Harrow County), Danny Luckert (Regression), and Leila Leiz (The Last Book You’ll...

SNEAK PEEK: CRITICAL ALLIANCE By Elizabeth Goddard

0
CRITICAL ALLIANCE By Elizabeth Goddard (Releasing July 5, 2022 - Available for pre-order) In early 2021, Elizabeth Goddard kicked off her new Rocky Mountain Courage series...

BOOK REVIEW: Lizzie & Dante by Mary Bly

0
Lizzie & Dante by Mary Bly The Ancient Greeks, I believe, had 7 words for various types of love. They are all defined in this...

SNEAK PEEK: The Extraordinary Deaths of Mrs. Kip By Sara Brunsvold

0
The Extraordinary Deaths of Mrs. Kip By Sara Brunsvold Sara Brunsvold Explores the Difference One Life Can Make in Debut Novel Winsome and wise, this thoughtful...

NOVELIST ANGELA SLATTER JOINS MIKE MIGNOLA FOR CASTLE FULL OF BLACKBIRDS

0
An all-new miniseries on sale from Dark Horse Comics this September This September, legendary Hellboy creator Mike Mignola and acclaimed artist Valeria Burzo will be joined by...

SNEAK PEEK: BEYOND THE DESERT SANDS BY TRACIE PETERSON

0
BEYOND THE DESERT SANDS BY TRACIE PETERSON Bestselling Author Continues Series Momentum in Beyond the Desert Sands “This feel-good story will delight fans of faith-filled...