spot_img

Lori Foster’s 12th Annual Reader/Author Get Together

ragtttFor twelve years, the Lori Foster Reader Author Get Together has been a premier reader event. Within hours of tickets going on sale, it is sold out. What makes this event so special to readers and authors alike? Well, everything. It is a casual event where readers can share breakfast, lunch and dinner with authors. They win prizes, get amazing goody bags, books, rooms of workshops, reader events and more books!

IMG_3896This year featured 80 authors from bestsellers to debut novelists. While most are romance writers, a few also write in other genres. Readers can find something to suit every taste. Everything begins with a volunteers that make the entire event run like a well-oiled machine. From registration to packing goody bags, to carrying in all the swag that is given to readers, volunteers make it happen.

Authors sponsor the amazing events. Karen Rose sponsored this year’s dinner which featured a ‘murder-mystery’ game complete with a jail for photos, to her latest book being given to all attendees. Amazing bestselling authors, Dianna Love, Karen Marie Monning, Darynda Jones, and a surprise appearance by J.R. Ward thrilled readers.

IMG_3949Friday and Saturday featured booksignings, fun workshops for readers and a fun Disney night party. The costumes were amazing, and absolutely creative. IMG_3934

Lest you think the event is just about books, authors and readers you should know that all those raffle baskets, roughly 250 of them raise funds for two amazing charities.

The Animal Adoption Foundation is a non-profit no-kill shelter for dogs and cats that have been abused or abandoned. $2500 to the Animal Adoption Foundation. From sales of limited print copies of A Buckhorn Summer to the AAF, plus Lori’s advance and all royalties moving forward! (Lori is currently giving the leftover copies to readers for at least a $5 donation to the AAF. For more on that, read this post on Goodreads.

Authors Wendi Zwaduk and J.R. Ward
Authors Wendi Zwaduk and J.R. Ward

The One Way Farm Children’s Home is a non-profit organization located in Fairfield, Ohio, caring for the abused, abandoned, neglected, troubled youth, and children with disabilities and developmental disabilities in the State of Ohio without regard to race, color, sex, or national origin. $21,000 to the One Way Farm

 

$1756 to the Conductive Learning Center. From a portion of Barnes & Noble book fair sales, given to the CLC

 

Here’s more from Lori Foster:

First, I need to thank our amazing sponsors, especially those authors who took on the expense of a meal. It would be wonderful if YOU thanked them as well by going to their Facebook pages and clicking LIKE. After all, they provided you with some delicious eats!

Thurs Welcome Party and Food:
Melissa Schroeder – https://www.facebook.com/MelissaSchroederfanpage/

Welcome Bags: Cheryl Dragon, Wendi Zwaduk and Jocie McKade

Fri breakfast:
Jenika Snow – https://www.facebook.com/JenikaSnow

Fri lunch:
Sylvia McDaniel – https://www.facebook.com/SylviaMcDanielAuthor
S.E.Smith – https://www.facebook.com/se.smith.5/
Geri Foster – https://www.facebook.com/Geri-Foster-Author-221042798245696
Kris Calvert – https://www.facebook.com/kriscalvert30

Sat breakfast:
Sam Cheever – https://www.facebook.com/SamCheeverAuthor

Sat lunch:
Toni Anderson – https://www.facebook.com/toniandersonauthor/
Rachel Grant – https://www.facebook.com/RachelGrantauthor

Sat dinner:
Karen Rose – https://www.facebook.com/KarenRoseBooks

Also, big thanks to Sam Cheever whose breakfast raffle added $550 to our contribution to the Animal Adoption Foundation, for a total of$2500.00 www.AAFPets.org

And to Trinity Blacio whose gave $400 from the Sweetside anthology to add to our contribution to the One Way Farm, for a total of$21,000.00 www.OneWayFarm.org

Lastly to Barnes and Noble, who will be sending 15% of book sales – a total of $1756.00 – to the Conductive Learning Center. www.clcgc.org

DATES FOR 2017!
We’ll be doing this again June 7-10, 2017. Same location.
If you attended this year and hope to make it in again in 2017, understand that you’ll be contacted prior to registration via this database to let you know it’s coming up in March. If you have friends who hope to make it through registration, watch the site for exact registration dates, and know that it happens the first week of March.
Given how quickly it happened this year, I assume we’ll again max out the very first day.

The website will be updated soon with photos from the donations and links to albums.
If you share photos, please use #RAGT16 to make them easy for others to find.
If you got a particularly good photo, please send it to me! I’d love to share.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,077FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

Random House Children’s Books Partners with Ebony Jr. Brand

0
Random House Children’s Books will publish a new line of books within the Little Golden Books imprint, in partnership with Ebony Media Publishing’s Ebony Jr. imprint, as...

Warm Up With These Drink Pairings While You Read

0
We all know reading with a favorite snack handy is nothing short of the best but have you paired your next read with a...

Book Review: “The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah

0
“The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah 1921, Texas panhandle Elsa Wolcott is 25 years old, far past the time to marry. She is not loved by her...

SNEAK PEEK & FIRST CHAPTER READ OF BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE

0
BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE (Pre-order now!) “That’s not my sister.” Overwhelmed by shock and relief, those are the only words Deven can muster when she...

SNEAK PEEK: BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles

0
BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Mitch Albom, Charles Martin, and Richard Paul Evans, Before I Go is at once a tender...

SNEAK PEEK: The Flower Enigma By Charles Breakfield and Rox Burkey

0
The Flower Enigma  - A book in the Magnolia Bluff Crime Chronicles Series Cyber Attacks are prevalent in this new take on the cozy mystery...

Talking With Joanna Davidson Politano About Her Latest Release THE LOST MELODY

0
Welcome Joanna! Let's start with you telling readers a bit about THE LOST MELODY. The Lost Melody is about a concert pianist who sees the...

GUEST POST: The Magic of Change: How Refreshing Your Home Can Alter Your...

0
Before I wrote In the Spirit of Home, I never really looked at home design as a form of magic. Pillows are pillows, right? And...

SNEAK PEEK: An Amish Christmas StarbyShelley Shepard Gray, Charlotte Hubbard, Rosalind Lauer

0
An Amish Christmas Star by Shelley Shepard Gray, Charlotte Hubbard, Rosalind Lauer Filled with faith, family, and a whole lot of heart, New York Times bestselling author Shelley...

(Psst! Hockey Lovers!!) Good Morning Sunshine The Joey Moss Story! By Lorna Schultz Nicholson

0
JUST IN TIME FOR BACK TO SCHOOL A blockbuster duo of books by critically acclaimed Children and Young Adult author, Lorna Schultz Nicholson Good Morning Sunshine...