spot_img

Harriet Tubman Prize Finalists

big-logoThe five finalists for the Harriet Tubman Prize have been announced by the New York Public Library. This is the inaugural year for the prize which was established by the The Lapidus Center for the Historical Analysis of Transatlantic Slavery at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. The award  recognizes nonfiction books on the subject of slavery.

From the press release: “The finalists were selected by a Readers Committee of eleven scholars and librarians, which evaluated over thirty books submitted for consideration that were published in 2015…The members of the Selection Committee are Kathleen Bethel, African American Studies Librarian at Northwestern University; Greg Grandin, award-winning Professor of History at New York University, and Charles R. Johnson, award-winning novelist, essayist, and playwright and Professor Emeritus of Creative Writing and English at Washington university.”

The winning author receives a cash prize of $7,500 and will be announced on December 12th.

Finalists for the 2016 Harriet Tubman Prize are:

From Shipmates to Soldiers: Emerging Black Identities in the Rio de la Plata by Alex Borucki (University of New Mexico Press)

Rethinking Slave Rebellion in Cuba: La Escalera and the Insurgencies of 1841-1844 by Aisha K. Finch (University of North Carolina Press)

Slave Against Slave: Plantation Violence in the Old South by Jeff Forret (Louisiana State University Press)

Eighty-Eight Years: The Long Death of Slavery in the United States, 1777-1875 byPatrick Rael (The University of Georgia Press)

The Business of Slavery and the Rise of American Capitalism, 1815-1860 by Calvin Schermerhorn (Yale University Press)

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,077FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

SNEAK PEEK: BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles

0
BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Mitch Albom, Charles Martin, and Richard Paul Evans, Before I Go is at once a tender...

(Psst! Hockey Lovers!!) Good Morning Sunshine The Joey Moss Story! By Lorna Schultz Nicholson

0
JUST IN TIME FOR BACK TO SCHOOL A blockbuster duo of books by critically acclaimed Children and Young Adult author, Lorna Schultz Nicholson Good Morning Sunshine...

Warm Up With These Drink Pairings While You Read

0
We all know reading with a favorite snack handy is nothing short of the best but have you paired your next read with a...

Book Review: “The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah

0
“The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah 1921, Texas panhandle Elsa Wolcott is 25 years old, far past the time to marry. She is not loved by her...

BEHIND THE WORDS With Author Carol Dines

0
Welcome, Carol, we’re excited to have you on Reader’s Entertainment. First, tell our readers a bit about yourself. I was raised in Rochester, Minnesota, but...

LOVE COMES TO PATIENCE IN RESIDENT ALIEN: THE BOOK OF LOVE

0
Harry finds love in the newest chapter of the hit comic series Dark Horse Comics teams up once again with Peter Hogan and Steve Parkhouse...

BOOKY CALL Celebrates Almost a Million Swipes

0
Book Discovery App to Mark Its Millionth Match as Users Swoon Over Book Dates When co-founders Brant Menswar and Jim Knight brainstormed a dating app to connect users to...

SNEAK PEEK: The Flower Enigma By Charles Breakfield and Rox Burkey

0
The Flower Enigma  - A book in the Magnolia Bluff Crime Chronicles Series Cyber Attacks are prevalent in this new take on the cozy mystery...

SNEAK PEEK & FIRST CHAPTER READ OF BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE

0
BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE (Pre-order now!) “That’s not my sister.” Overwhelmed by shock and relief, those are the only words Deven can muster when she...

GUEST POST: The Magic of Change: How Refreshing Your Home Can Alter Your...

0
Before I wrote In the Spirit of Home, I never really looked at home design as a form of magic. Pillows are pillows, right? And...