Home Blog Mystery Writers of America Announces Edgar Allan Poe Awards

Mystery Writers of America Announces Edgar Allan Poe Awards


Mystery Writers of America honors the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television published or produced in 2019 with the presentation of the Edgar Awards. Below is the list of this year’s winners and you can also tune into the MWA Youtube channel to watch the recipients acceptance speeches.  YouTube channel.

The winners are: 

Best Novel
The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths (HMH)

Best First Novel by an American Author
Miracle Creek by Angie Kim (Sarah Crichton)

Best Paperback Original
The Hotel Neversink by Adam O’Fallon Price (Tin House)

Best Fact Crime
The Less People Know About Us: A Mystery of Betrayal, Family Secrets, and Stolen Identity by Axton Betz-Hamilton (Grand Central)

Best Critical/Biographical
Hitchcock and the Censors by John Billheimer (University Press of Kentucky)

Best Short Story
“One of These Nights,” from Cutting Edge: New Stories of Mystery and Crime by Women Writers by Livia Llewellyn (Akashic)

Best Juvenile
Me and Sam-Sam Handle the Apocalypse by Susan Vaught (Paula Wiseman)

Best Young Adult
Catfishing on CatNet by Naomi Kritzer (Tor Teen)

Best Television Episode Teleplay
“Season 5, Episode 4” of Line of Duty, teleplay by Jed Mercurio (Acorn TV)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award
“There’s a Riot Goin’ On,” from Milwaukee Noir by Derrick Harriell (Akashic)

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award
The Night Visitors by Carol Goodman (William Morrow)

G.P. Putnam’s Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Award
Borrowed Time by Tracy Clark (Kensington)

Exit mobile version