AUTHORS AND THEIR HOBBIES: HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN

hank smiling with murder listPassions with Hank Phillippi Ryan

A hobby.  A hobby? I really had to think about this. If a hobby is something that you do for fun, to distract you from your working life, or because you have a passion outside of work, then… I fear I don’t have one.

Reading doesn’t count, of course, because my whole life is reading. Writing is not a hobby,  because that’s part of how I make my living. And now in quarantine? I get to work in my library–what a joy.  The other part, being a television reporter–that’s my job, although I adore it.  Walking around our garden, and seeing what flowers come and go? That’s a pleasure, especially in tulip season, but not my hobby. We just planted a  whole row of tomatoes, and I am as unnamed (2)protective of those as anything I have ever known! But tomato-growing is not my hobby.
We have a menagerie of birds around our house now, I heard a chickadee this morning, and cardinals, a woodpecker rapping on a trunk nearby, and robins are constantly bobbing across our front lawn, looking for worms. I noticed flickers in our backyard, and a phalanx of grackles.  I love birds, too, but that is not my hobby.
unnamedThere’s a wonderful puzzle every Sunday morning in the New York Times, and I grab that first thing. But that is just a treat, not a hobby.  Watching vintage movies with my husband, I love that! But I’m no expert, and that’s just for fun.
My hobby, I have to admit, Is entertaining readers. I imagine people opening my books, and falling into the stories, into the worlds I’ve created, and that is such an inspiration!
I’m kind of lucky, come to think of it, my life is so full.

HANK’S LATEST RELEASE —- THE FIRST TO LIE

THE FIRST TO LIEBestselling and award-winning author and investigative reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan returns with  a twisty cat and mouse novel of suspense that will have you guessing, and second-guessing, and then gasping with surprise.  THE FIRST TO LIE (A Forge Hardcover, eBook, and Macmillan Audio; On-sale: August 4, 2020), will have readers wondering: How far would you go to get what you want–and  how deeply would you betray your family to get it?

USA Today bestselling author Hank Phillippi Ryan is well known as the longtime on-camera investigative reporter for Boston’s WHDH-TV, where she’s won thirty-six Emmys and dozens more journalism honors. But beyond her recognition for her television reporting, Ryan has countless fans across the country for her award-winning and critically-acclaimed bestselling suspense and thriller novels, including 2018’s Trust Me (an Agatha Award nominee) and 2019’s The Murder List (currently nominated for both the Agatha and the Mary Higgins Clark Award). Combining her years of first-hand experience inside high-stakes trials and the psychological intrigue of the battle for justice, plus her prowess with crafting page-turning mysteries with compelling and relatable characters, THE FIRST TO LIE is a masterpiece of a suspense novel, perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and B.A. Paris.

We all have our reasons for being who we are—but what if being someone else could get you what you want?

After a devastating betrayal, a young woman sets off on an obsessive path to justice, no matter what dark family secrets are revealed.  What she doesn’t know—she isn’t the only one plotting her revenge. 

An affluent daughter of privilege. A glamorous manipulative wannabe. A determined reporter, in too deep. A grieving widow who must choose her new reality.  Who will be the first to lie?  And when the stakes are life and death, do a few lies really matter?

With THE FIRST TO LIE, Hank Phillippi Ryan has once again spun a stunning new psychological standalone that will be devoured by fans who’ll rip through the pages—and be left to be gasping at the final twists. Only Ryan—who critics have dubbed “a master at crafting superb suspense”—could combine her award-winning reporting skills and story-telling talent to blend this compelling combination of suspense, a mystery of identity and trust, and the shifting versions of the truth.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN is a USA Today bestselling author of 12 thrillers, winning the most prestigious awards in the genre: five Agathas, three Anthonys, the Daphne, and for THE OTHER WOMAN, the coveted Mary Higgins Clark Award. She is also the on-air investigative reporter for Boston’s WHDH-TV, with 36 EMMYs and dozens more journalism honors. Book critics call her “a master of suspense,” “a superb and gifted storyteller,” and she’s the only author to have won the Agatha in four different categories: Best First, Best Novel, Best Short Story and Best Non-Fiction. Hank’s newest book is THE MURDER LIST, an Agatha, Anthony and Mary Higgins Clark Award nominee. NYT bestsellers A.J. Finn says, “exciting, explosive, relentless,” and B.A. Paris says it’s “her best yet.” Coming Aug. 4: the chilling psychological standalone THE FIRST TO LIE. The Publishers Weekly starred review says “Stellar… Hank Phillippi Ryan could win a sixth Agatha with this one” and bestseller Sarah Pekkanen says “Book clubs will gobble it up.”

Hank is a founder of MWA University and past president of National Sisters in Crime. Visit Hank online at HankPhillippiRyan.com, on Twitter @HankPRyan, on Instagram @hankpryan and on Facebook at HankPhillippiRyanAuthor.

Jocie McKade
Jocie McKadehttps://www.jociemckade.com/
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,026FansLike
3,250FollowersFollow
9,900SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

New York Public Library Author Talks

0
We love the New York Public Library! And we love their commitment to books, literacy, authors and community. NYPL offers author videos with some of...

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars an Interview with Christopher Paolini

0
From penning the bestselling Eragon series as a teen Christopher Paolini hasn't slowed down. But, he has evolved. From Fantasy to Science Fiction Paolini...

TOLERANCE FOR ALL, THEME IN DRAGULA AUDIOBOOK DRAGULA: A Transgender Tale By...

0
Vellum Publishing, Inc. announces the release of a Blackstone musical audiobook worldwide distribution: DRAGULA: A Transgender Tale, offering support for all those in the...

BOOK REVIEW: “VICTORY OF EAGLES” BY NAOMI NOVIK

0
After the events of the last book, Laurence has been found guilty of treason and is in jail. Temeraire has been placed in the...

MY BEST RECIPE: KRISTINE RAYMOND SHARES A SWEETHEART OF A RECIPE!

0
Dependent upon the season, my favorite recipe varies. During the summer, when my garden overflows with an abundance of zucchini and crookneck squash, so...

Throwback Thursday Book Trailer: The Darkness

0
https://youtu.be/X0IqkPVWChg   The Darkness by LA Banks from Dec. 7th, 2007 When The Darkness falls the only hope for mortal men and women are the Neteru warriors...

Book Review: A Bride of Convenience

0
A Bride of Convenience by Jody Hedlund My rating: 4 of 5 stars This is such a heartwarming book. I absolutely love the characters and how...

Wake County Public Libraries Storytime

0
Who doesn't love storytime? The Wake County Public Libraries offers a series of storytime readings and activities you can engage with right at home. This...

A Light in the Darkness by Rian McMurtry Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/4bJGZ8pNUDA Angela Fujimori enters her sophomore year of high school with a world changed. She apprenticed herself to a necromancer classmate to learn magic and...

No Comic-Con, No Problem: Del Rey and Out of Print Team Up to Launch...

0
In advance of the 30th anniversary of Timothy Zahn’s Heir to the Empire in May 2021, Del Rey and Out of Print have teamed up to celebrate Thrawn like never...