AUTHORS AND THEIR HOBBIES: HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN

hank smiling with murder listPassions with Hank Phillippi Ryan

A hobby.  A hobby? I really had to think about this. If a hobby is something that you do for fun, to distract you from your working life, or because you have a passion outside of work, then… I fear I don’t have one.

Reading doesn’t count, of course, because my whole life is reading. Writing is not a hobby,  because that’s part of how I make my living. And now in quarantine? I get to work in my library–what a joy.  The other part, being a television reporter–that’s my job, although I adore it.  Walking around our garden, and seeing what flowers come and go? That’s a pleasure, especially in tulip season, but not my hobby. We just planted a  whole row of tomatoes, and I am as unnamed (2)protective of those as anything I have ever known! But tomato-growing is not my hobby.
We have a menagerie of birds around our house now, I heard a chickadee this morning, and cardinals, a woodpecker rapping on a trunk nearby, and robins are constantly bobbing across our front lawn, looking for worms. I noticed flickers in our backyard, and a phalanx of grackles.  I love birds, too, but that is not my hobby.
unnamedThere’s a wonderful puzzle every Sunday morning in the New York Times, and I grab that first thing. But that is just a treat, not a hobby.  Watching vintage movies with my husband, I love that! But I’m no expert, and that’s just for fun.
My hobby, I have to admit, Is entertaining readers. I imagine people opening my books, and falling into the stories, into the worlds I’ve created, and that is such an inspiration!
I’m kind of lucky, come to think of it, my life is so full.

HANK’S LATEST RELEASE —- THE FIRST TO LIE

THE FIRST TO LIEBestselling and award-winning author and investigative reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan returns with  a twisty cat and mouse novel of suspense that will have you guessing, and second-guessing, and then gasping with surprise.  THE FIRST TO LIE (A Forge Hardcover, eBook, and Macmillan Audio; On-sale: August 4, 2020), will have readers wondering: How far would you go to get what you want–and  how deeply would you betray your family to get it?

USA Today bestselling author Hank Phillippi Ryan is well known as the longtime on-camera investigative reporter for Boston’s WHDH-TV, where she’s won thirty-six Emmys and dozens more journalism honors. But beyond her recognition for her television reporting, Ryan has countless fans across the country for her award-winning and critically-acclaimed bestselling suspense and thriller novels, including 2018’s Trust Me (an Agatha Award nominee) and 2019’s The Murder List (currently nominated for both the Agatha and the Mary Higgins Clark Award). Combining her years of first-hand experience inside high-stakes trials and the psychological intrigue of the battle for justice, plus her prowess with crafting page-turning mysteries with compelling and relatable characters, THE FIRST TO LIE is a masterpiece of a suspense novel, perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and B.A. Paris.

We all have our reasons for being who we are—but what if being someone else could get you what you want?

After a devastating betrayal, a young woman sets off on an obsessive path to justice, no matter what dark family secrets are revealed.  What she doesn’t know—she isn’t the only one plotting her revenge. 

An affluent daughter of privilege. A glamorous manipulative wannabe. A determined reporter, in too deep. A grieving widow who must choose her new reality.  Who will be the first to lie?  And when the stakes are life and death, do a few lies really matter?

With THE FIRST TO LIE, Hank Phillippi Ryan has once again spun a stunning new psychological standalone that will be devoured by fans who’ll rip through the pages—and be left to be gasping at the final twists. Only Ryan—who critics have dubbed “a master at crafting superb suspense”—could combine her award-winning reporting skills and story-telling talent to blend this compelling combination of suspense, a mystery of identity and trust, and the shifting versions of the truth.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN is a USA Today bestselling author of 12 thrillers, winning the most prestigious awards in the genre: five Agathas, three Anthonys, the Daphne, and for THE OTHER WOMAN, the coveted Mary Higgins Clark Award. She is also the on-air investigative reporter for Boston’s WHDH-TV, with 36 EMMYs and dozens more journalism honors. Book critics call her “a master of suspense,” “a superb and gifted storyteller,” and she’s the only author to have won the Agatha in four different categories: Best First, Best Novel, Best Short Story and Best Non-Fiction. Hank’s newest book is THE MURDER LIST, an Agatha, Anthony and Mary Higgins Clark Award nominee. NYT bestsellers A.J. Finn says, “exciting, explosive, relentless,” and B.A. Paris says it’s “her best yet.” Coming Aug. 4: the chilling psychological standalone THE FIRST TO LIE. The Publishers Weekly starred review says “Stellar… Hank Phillippi Ryan could win a sixth Agatha with this one” and bestseller Sarah Pekkanen says “Book clubs will gobble it up.”

Hank is a founder of MWA University and past president of National Sisters in Crime. Visit Hank online at HankPhillippiRyan.com, on Twitter @HankPRyan, on Instagram @hankpryan and on Facebook at HankPhillippiRyanAuthor.

Jocie McKade
Jocie McKadehttps://www.jociemckade.com/
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,024FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,200SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

One World Premieres “Ideas & Action” Podcast

0
One World presents a new Ideas & Action podcast that explores different challenges and opportunities facing our society, sharing perspectives and advice from their authors to understand...

PODCAST: WITH AUTHOR SUMMER DOWELL

0
Get read for some fun, flirty escapism with author Summer Dowell LISTEN HERE!! Summer Dowell is an author of fun, feel-good chick lits and romantic comedies...

MEET THE AUTHOR: LAWNA MACKIE

0
FEBRUARY IS FOR ROMANCE AUTHORS! MEET LAWNA MACKIE My name is Lawna and I’m an avid romance reader and author. I wanted to share something about...

Penguin Random House & We Need Diverse Books Launch the Black Creatives Fund

0
Together with We Need Diverse Books (WNDB), we are thrilled to announce the launch of the Black Creatives Fund, an initiative with a mission of supporting emerging...

Visual literacy as a tool for learning

0
Sometimes you need more than just reading books.... Visual literacy as a tool for learning The burgeoning field of visual literacy can be universally understood across...

SNEAK PEEK: THE VINEYARD AT PAINTED MOON BY SUSAN MALLERY

0
The Vineyard at Painted Moon by Susan Mallery Already a worldwide success in mass market and trade paperback formats, #1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery’s...

MEET THE AUTHOR: J.E. MCDONALD

0
IT'S MEET THE ROMANCE AUTHORS MONTH! MEET J.E. MCDONALD....... I’m a morning writer who hates mornings. Every day I drag myself out of bed and join...

Hillary Rodham Clinton and Louise Penny Team Up to Write Thriller

0
STATE OF TERROR to be jointly published by Simon & Schuster and St. Martin’s Press in October Simon & Schuster and St. Martin’s Press are proud...

SNEAK PEEK: BLUE FIRE BY E.C. BLAKE

0
BLUE FIRE BY E.C. BLAKE From the author of the acclaimed fantasy trilogy The Masks of Agyrima, published by DAW Books, comes another epic YA fantasy...

Nationwide Digital BookClub

0
Nearly 16,000 public libraries and tens of thousands of readers across the United States join together to enjoy the latest Together We Read: US digital book...