Sheila’s Book Review: The Undoing: Book 1 of the Undoing Trilogy by Desserae Shepston

The Undoing: Book 1 of the Undoing Trilogy by Desserae Shepston

4.5 stars out of 5

If you like Divergent, this could be right up your ally. It’s the same vibe, but not the same story.

So, this is a young adult dystopian tale with a strong female lead and great characters. There are some parallels, in my opinion, to what’s going on in America today, which I thought was clever.
Rebecca and her friends learn that life as they know it is not what it seems and must become renegades in order to save the city.
This is a great friendship, team, bonding tale that I think anyone who loves YA will enjoy.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

A fresh take on a dystopian storyline, The Undoing is a page-turner with unforgettable characters and an intriguing plot that will keep you hooked from beginning to end. Fans of Divergent, The Amber Project, and Year One will love The Undoing

The Undoing is young adult dystopian literature at its best: a thoroughly engrossing story that will reach from young adult into adult audiences…follow a group of young people who increasingly realize how their ordered world really works…and have growing questions about its costs…Readers will find the first book in The Undoing Trilogy a complex story of social order and disorder, presenting a devastating plan that is attacked by a girl who always believed her strengths lay in another direction. YA dystopian fiction readers are in for a treat with The Undoing.”- D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

In her 14 years, all Rebecca has known is life under the rigid structure of Anecor. She knows the rules. She knows how to play the game. Now everything she knows is about to change…

The Reckoning destroyed the United States of America. Survivors of the assault, led by the newly elected president, are now subject to his rules. The Vision controls nearly every aspect of life in the country now known as Anecor.

Rebecca and Jonathan grew up under the strict rules and watchful “eye” of SMALS, an AI system that monitors citizens’ every move through phones and internal trackers. Those who don’t follow the rules are disappeared.

Never to be seen again.

When a strange virus strikes the city of Montrose, the residents panic as more of their friends, family, and acquaintances are stricken. No one knows how the virus spreads and scientists have found no cure. There have been no survivors. When the virus strikes Jonathan, Rebecca’s world turns upside down.

Jonathan reveals to Rebecca his suspicions about the virus and the discovery of a mysterious glow of purple light behind a nearby mountain. It is up to Rebecca to continue the work he started. It is up to her to unravel the mystery of the virus and the purple light. It is up to her to save her city.

Rebecca will have to risk everything, including her life, to keep her promise to Jonathan.

Her life is about to change. And so will the rules of the game.

And to succeed, it will mean joining in a perilous battle for the survival of Anecor.

 

Book review by Sheila English

Sheila Englishhttp://sheilaenglish.com
Award-winning author of short stories and comic books. Telly award-winning producer and director of many book trailers.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

Will Smith Penning Memoir

0
Penguin Press will publish WILL, a memoir by two-time Academy Award nominee, Grammy Award and NAACP Image Award winner Will Smith, on November 9, 2021. Smith celebrated this...

BOOK NEWS: TOR BOOKS ACQUIRES HOLLY BLACK’S DEBUT ADULT NOVEL

0
#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black announced on Friday evening that Tor Books would publish her debut adult novel BOOK OF NIGHT,...

Solid Ground A Foundation For Winning by T.W. Lewis Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/CzeBU3oQhqc   “Tom Lewis has provided a roadmap for a richer, more meaningful, and happier life. Take that road!” – Dennis Prager, author and syndicated talk...

Starlite Business Woman book trailer

0
The Businesswoman is a story about success and talented women. This story is based on the success of an oriental woman living in Washington....

Sizzling Summer Cozy Mystery Reads!

0
Fresh Brewed Murder -A Ground Rules Mystery  by Emmeline Duncan Master barista Sage Caplin is opening a new coffee cart in Portland, Oregon, but a killer is...

THE 105th ANNUAL PULITZER PRIZES IN JOURNALISM, LETTERS, DRAMA AND MUSIC

0
Columbia University today announces the 2021 Pulitzer Prizes, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board. For more information on this year’s Prize finalists and...

There’s a Book for That: Alzheimer’s and Brain Awareness Month

0
There's a Book for That: Alzheimer's and Brain Awareness Month June is Alzheimer’s and Brain Awareness Month and the Alzheimer’s Association (ALZ) has launched their #goPurple campaign....

WHAT MY FATHER TAUGHT ME BY V.S. HOLMES

0
Special Feature --- Celebrating Fathers What My Father Taught Me By V.S. Holmes It would be easy to say my father taught me everything. It’d almost...

When the Flowers are Gone- An Interview with author Norman Beaupre

0
https://youtu.be/kbjx0AWIgRQ When the Flowers are Gone- An Interview with author Norman Beaupre This is the sequel to the first part of the author's memoir, The Little...

The Lost Feehan Trailers – Dark Melody, Dark Secret and Magic in the Wind

0
It's always exciting to watch book trailers and no author is more well-known for her trailers as Christine Feehan whose Dark Symphony book trailer...