Sheila’s Book Review: The Undoing: Book 1 of the Undoing Trilogy by Desserae Shepston

The Undoing: Book 1 of the Undoing Trilogy by Desserae Shepston

4.5 stars out of 5

If you like Divergent, this could be right up your ally. It’s the same vibe, but not the same story.

So, this is a young adult dystopian tale with a strong female lead and great characters. There are some parallels, in my opinion, to what’s going on in America today, which I thought was clever.
Rebecca and her friends learn that life as they know it is not what it seems and must become renegades in order to save the city.
This is a great friendship, team, bonding tale that I think anyone who loves YA will enjoy.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

A fresh take on a dystopian storyline, The Undoing is a page-turner with unforgettable characters and an intriguing plot that will keep you hooked from beginning to end. Fans of Divergent, The Amber Project, and Year One will love The Undoing

The Undoing is young adult dystopian literature at its best: a thoroughly engrossing story that will reach from young adult into adult audiences…follow a group of young people who increasingly realize how their ordered world really works…and have growing questions about its costs…Readers will find the first book in The Undoing Trilogy a complex story of social order and disorder, presenting a devastating plan that is attacked by a girl who always believed her strengths lay in another direction. YA dystopian fiction readers are in for a treat with The Undoing.”- D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

In her 14 years, all Rebecca has known is life under the rigid structure of Anecor. She knows the rules. She knows how to play the game. Now everything she knows is about to change…

The Reckoning destroyed the United States of America. Survivors of the assault, led by the newly elected president, are now subject to his rules. The Vision controls nearly every aspect of life in the country now known as Anecor.

Rebecca and Jonathan grew up under the strict rules and watchful “eye” of SMALS, an AI system that monitors citizens’ every move through phones and internal trackers. Those who don’t follow the rules are disappeared.

Never to be seen again.

When a strange virus strikes the city of Montrose, the residents panic as more of their friends, family, and acquaintances are stricken. No one knows how the virus spreads and scientists have found no cure. There have been no survivors. When the virus strikes Jonathan, Rebecca’s world turns upside down.

Jonathan reveals to Rebecca his suspicions about the virus and the discovery of a mysterious glow of purple light behind a nearby mountain. It is up to Rebecca to continue the work he started. It is up to her to unravel the mystery of the virus and the purple light. It is up to her to save her city.

Rebecca will have to risk everything, including her life, to keep her promise to Jonathan.

Her life is about to change. And so will the rules of the game.

And to succeed, it will mean joining in a perilous battle for the survival of Anecor.

 

Book review by Sheila English

Sheila English
Sheila Englishhttp://sheilaenglish.com
Award-winning author of short stories and comic books. Telly award-winning producer and director of many book trailers.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,026FansLike
3,250FollowersFollow
9,900SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

2020 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Nonfiction

0
2020 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Nonfiction, Atwood Distinguished Achievement Award Winners of this year’s Dayton Literary Peace Prize have been announced, with the nonfiction award going...

BOOK REVIEW: “VICTORY OF EAGLES” BY NAOMI NOVIK

0
After the events of the last book, Laurence has been found guilty of treason and is in jail. Temeraire has been placed in the...

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars an Interview with Christopher Paolini

0
From penning the bestselling Eragon series as a teen Christopher Paolini hasn't slowed down. But, he has evolved. From Fantasy to Science Fiction Paolini...

Two for the Dough by Janet Evanovich

0
Two for the Dough by Janet Evanovich Review by Holly Irish My rating: 4 of 5 stars I just love Stephanie Plum books. They haven’t disappointed me...

Darko: The Sacred Heart of Johanee Darko Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/OXtQ2h_I98w When everything falls apart, getting back to the basics is often the best answer. Kenny G. Down, continuing his work as a “grateful and...

New York Public Library Author Talks

0
We love the New York Public Library! And we love their commitment to books, literacy, authors and community. NYPL offers author videos with some of...

BLOG TALK RADIO: Push and Pole and other great book with author Laura Heffernan

0
Push and Pole and other great book with author Laura Heffernan Laura Heffernan is the award-winning, internationally best-selling author of fun, witty romantic comedies and...

Book Review: Virgin River by Robyn Carr

0
Virgin River by Robyn Carr My rating: 4 of 5 stars This is such a great story. I loved every bit of it, especially the setting....

PAGE TURNING: Craig DiLouie‎’s The Children of Red Peak

0
The survivors of a doomsday cult’s horrific last days reunite to confront their past and the entity that appeared on the final night. Craig DiLouie’s...

A Light in the Darkness by Rian McMurtry Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/4bJGZ8pNUDA Angela Fujimori enters her sophomore year of high school with a world changed. She apprenticed herself to a necromancer classmate to learn magic and...