The 2020 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners


The 2020 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners

Founded in 1974, the NBCC now comprises more than 1,000 working critics and book-review editors throughout the country, who annually vote and bestow its awards in six categories, honoring the best books published in the past year in the United States.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2020 National Book Critics Circle Awards!

Criticism: Nicole R. Fleetwood, Marking Time: Art in the Age of Mass Incarceration (Harvard Univ. Press)

Poetry: francine j. harris, Here Is the Sweet Hand (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Autobiography: Cathy Park Hong, Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning (One World)

Fiction: Hamnet, Maggie O’Farrell (Knopf)

Biography: Amy Stanley, Stranger in the Shogun’s City: A Japanese Woman and Her World (Scribner)

Nonfiction: Tom Zoellner, Island on Fire: The Revolt That Ended Slavery in the British Empire (Harvard Univ. Press)

The John Leonard Prize: Raven Leilani, Luster (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

The Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: The Feminist Press

The Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing: Jo Livingstone

National Book Critics Circle Award Winners