Presenting: Dark Horse Comics titles nominated for the 2023 Eisner Awards!

Dark Horse is delighted to share our 2023 Eisner Awards nominations. The nominees, chosen by a blue-ribbon panel of judges, reflect the wide range of material published in comics and graphic novels.

Named for acclaimed comics creator Will Eisner, the awards are celebrating their 35th year and highlight the best publications and creators in comics and graphic novels.


Best Humor Publication:

Killer Queens, by David Booher and Claudia Balboni

Best Graphic Album—Reprint:

Mazebook Dark Horse Direct Edition, by Jeff Lemire

Super Spy Deluxe Edition, by Matt Kindt

Best Adaptation from Another Medium:

Chivalry by Neil Gaiman, adapted by Colleen Doran

Best U.S. Edition of International Material:

Always Never, by Jordi Lafebre, translation by Montana Kane

Blacksad: They All Fall Down Part 1, by Juan Díaz Canales and Juanjo Guarnido, translation by Diana Schutz and Brandon Kander

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia:

The Hellbound vols. 1-2, by Yeon Sang-ho and Choi Gyu-seok, translation by Danny Lim

Best Coloring:

Diana Sousa, Critical Role: Vox Machina OriginsThe Mighty Nein Origins: Yasha NydoorinThe Mighty Nein Origins: Fjord StoneThe Mighty Nein Origins: Caleb Widogast

Best Lettering:

Todd Klein, Chivalry

Nate Piekos, Black Hammer RebornMinor ThreatsShaolin CowboyStranger Things: Kamchatka

Best Publication Design:

Mazebook Dark Horse Direct Edition, designed by Tom Muller

Notes: All professionals in the comic book industry are eligible to vote. Ballots can be requested through this form, information on eligibility and process are available at Comic-con.org. The deadline for voting is June 9. See the full list of nominees on the Comic-Con International website here.

Eisner Hall of Fame Nominees

San Diego Comic Convention (Comic-Con) previously announced that the Eisner Awards judges have selected 15 individuals to automatically be inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame for 2023. These inductees include 11 deceased comics pioneers and 4 living creators. The deceased greats are: Jerry Bails, Tony DeZuniga, Justin Green, Jay Jackson, Jeffrey Catherine Jones, Aline Kominsky-Crumb, Win Mortimer, Diane Noomin, Gaspar Saladino, Kim Thompson, and Mort Walker. The judges’ living choices are Bill Griffith, Jack Katz, Garry Trudeau, and Tatjana Wood.

The judges have also chosen 16 nominees from whom voters will select 4 to be inducted into the Hall of Fame this summer. These nominees are Gus Arriola, Brian Bolland, Gerry Conway, Edwina Dumm, Mark Evanier, Creig Flessel, Bob Fujitani, Warren Kremer, Todd McFarlane, Keiji Nakazawa, Ann Nocenti, Paul Norris, Bud Plant, Tim Sale, Diana Schutz, and Phil Seuling. More information on the inductees and nominees can be found on the Comic-Con website here.

Congratulations to all of the nominees, many of whom are people Dark Horse has had the privilege to work with over the years.

Previous articleNew Release: Imposter Doctors By Rebekah Bernard, MD
Next article6 Reads to Learn More About WWII
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.