Tag: literature

SNEAK PEEK: Summertime Guests: A Novel by Wendy Francis

Summertime Guests: A Novel by Wendy Francis Perfect for fans of Jamie Brenner, Elin Hilderbrand, and Meg Mitchell Moore, Wendy Francis's latest is a witty, juicy, and thoroughly enjoyable story of four very...

Oregon Book Awards 2020

Oregon Book Awards Presented annually by Literary Arts, Inc., The Oregon Book Awards acknowledge the finest accomplishments by Oregon writers in the genres of Fiction, Poetry, Literary Nonfiction, Drama, and Young Readers' Literature. Here...

A 100-Year-Old Holocaust Survivor on How Books Save Lives

“There are times when dreams sustain us more than facts. To read a book and surrender to a story is to keep our very humanity alive.” BY MARIA POPOVA (reprinted with permission from...

MILKMAN by Anna Burns 2018 Man Booker Prize Winner

Milkman by author Anna Burns has been awarded the 2018 Man Booker Prize. Burns from Belfast, Ireland, is the first Northern Ireland author to win the prize. Burns was praised by the...

No Nobel Prize in Literature in 2018

It has been announced that in light of an alleged sexual scandal involving a literary board member, the 2018 prize will be postponed. The Swedish Academy has decided the damaging details are...

Dying to Give A Review

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4UZ7esf0As   Dying to Give by Gary B. Shelly As a parent, the first chapter brought me to tears. By the second chapter, I was sobbing, while simultaneously rooting for the characters and by the...

Winners of the National Book Awards 2016

This was the 67th year the National Book Foundation has awarded the National Book Award to some of the best literature in the nation. The first year, the award was presented by...

Man Booker Prize Announces 2016 Shortlist

For forty years, the Man Booker Prize for literature has been awarded to the best writing from English speaking authors. They have now opened a new award to include international authors. This...
Advertisment

Most Popular

SNEAK PEEK: THE ARTIST BY CHRISTIE STRATOS

THE ARTIST BY CHRISTIE STRATOS HISTORICAL SUSPENSE AT ITS BEST WITH THIS SHORT STORY WITHIN THE DARK VICTORIANA COLLECTION An ad in the newspaper. A Civil...

BOOK REVIEW: “SUBTERRANEAN” BY JAMES ROLLINS

“SUBTERRANEAN” BY JAMES ROLLINS Ashley Carter is a single mom (to Jason) and a Paleoanthropology Assistant Professor specializing in cliff-dwelling primatives. What in the world would the...

National Poetry Month, Sign Up for Knopf’s “Poem a Day”

The Academy of American Poets officially designated April as National Poetry Month beginning in 1996. This annual celebration highlights the extraordinary legacy and ongoing achievement of American poets...