Imager’s Challenge: The Second Book of the Imager Portfolio – Video Review

Book Review
Written by John Berten
Book: Imager’s Challenge
Author: L. E. Modesitt, Jr.

Though he seemed destined to become a master artisan, Rhennthyl’s rare ability to visualize objects and cause them to materialize has altered his life’s course completely. Rhenn is an imager, one of the select few on Terahnar, and this is his story.

After recovering from injuries inflicted during his foiling of a plot masterminded by the Ferran envoy, Rhenn is appointed as the imager liaison to the Civic Patrol of L’Excelsis, but this “promotion” is far from glorious, and, owing to the displeasure of the Commander of the Civic Patrol at having a liaison from the Collegium, it leaves him on patrol in the streets of the city’s worst district. What is worse is that Rhenn has made powerful enemies since realizing his ability as an imager, and now one of the High Holders intends to destroy Rhenn and his entire family. His only hope is in alliances with the family of the woman whom he cherishes. Their success as merchants and underworld connections may be the only thing that can help Rhenn win against those who would destroy him and all that he holds dear, but will this be enough, and can Rhenn find a way of compromising the intentions of his foes without making more enemies? What will it take to protect the ones he loves? Find out in the next installment of the Imager Portfolio, Imager’s Challenge.

L. E. Modesitt, Jr. is an accomplished author of more than forty science fiction novels. Imager’s Challenge is the second book in what he has dubbed the Imager Portfolio. This engaging and developed fantasy series is set in L’Excelsis, the capital city of the most powerful nation on Terahnar, a world of Modesitt’s ingenious contrivance where magic rules in secret. Modesitt has been treating readers to the brilliance of his magical realms in various science fiction series since the early 1970s. The Imager series bears testament to his ability as a writer to captivate readers with imaginative and exciting tales that unfold on faraway worlds, and, in his writing, Modesitt achieves a level of genuine character development that is not typical of other works in the science fiction genre. According to the Library Journal, “the author’s skill in portraying the humanity of characters who possess the power to destroy others with a thought adds a level of verisimilitude and immediacy rarely found in grand-scale fantasy.”

If you are a reader of science fiction and fantasy, then the likelihood that you are no stranger to the work of Modesitt seems great. Loyal fans of Modesitt will greatly enjoy this newest novel in his latest fantasy series, but if you are an avid science fiction reader and yet your familiarity with Modesitt’s work is nonexistant, it is likely that you will still quickly learn to appreciate the potency of his science fiction. The Imagers Portfolio and its latest installment, Imager’s Challenge, comes highly recommended for fantasy and science fiction readers everywhere.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

SNEAK PEEK: FOREVER THIS SUMMER BY LESLIE C. YOUNGBLOOD

0
FOREVER THIS SUMMER BY LESLIE C. YOUNGBLOOD The second book from critically acclaimed author Leslie C. Youngblood, about family, identity, and learning to stand up...

SNEAK PEEK: TRANSFORMERS: WRECKERS – TREAD & CIRCUITS Comic Book Series Coming in October

0
TRANSFORMERS: WRECKERS – TREAD & CIRCUITS Comic Book Series Coming in October  Unimaginably Risky Missions, Low Probability of Survival… The Wreckers are the Right Bots...

Holly Irish Book Review: A Stony Point Christmas

0
A Stony Point Christmas (Annie’s Attic Mysteries #21) A Stony Point Christmas by K.D. McCrite My rating: 4 of 5 stars This is a delightful story. I love...

PODCAST: Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell

0
Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell LISTEN HERE! With over 35 stories in print, best-selling author Monique McDonnell has fun, flirty stories to...

Doctor Who Monthly Adventures

0
If you love audiobooks you know some stories are told with flare. Big Finish audio dramas include a full cast, sound effects and music...

SNEAK PEEK: THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON

0
THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON A thrilling new crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and...

Sis & Big Pop’s Culture: Tardis Prom, Black Widow, and Rotten Raspberry

0
https://open.spotify.com/episode/6J215N0ZeZYtmrilQXs17J A father and adult daughter dive into all things geek, nerd, and fandom. Each episode we'll discuss one of our favorite aspects of nerd...

Holly Irish Book Review: Set the Stars Alight

0
Set the Stars Alight Set the Stars Alight by Amanda Dykes My rating: 5 of 5 stars This book is not what I was expecting at all! I...

PODCAST: Inspiration and the Magic of the Muse with Author Shane Wilson on Book...

0
Inspiration and the Magic of the Muse with Author Shane Wilson on Book Lights LISTEN HERE! Shane Wilson is a storyteller. No matter the medium, the...

Holly Irish Book Review: The Duke and I (Bridgertons #1)

0
The Duke and I (Bridgertons #1) The Duke and I by Julia Quinn My rating: 5 of 5 stars Ok so I jumped on the Bridgerton bandwagon once...