Holidays at Home with James Rollins

A beautiful display was set out. Mr. Rollins had participated in a charity for children in which he allowed over 2000 people to see his home as part of a Christmas tour.

Holidays at Home series starts with New York Bestselling author James Rollins!

Walking into the home of James Rollins I felt immediately welcomed and in awe. The rooms I saw were warm and it was obvious there was a lot of thought put into them.

There are some houses that you go into where you’re afraid to touch anything. This was not one of those houses. This was a home.  I could see evidence of Mr. Rollins life and loves scattered amongst the Christmas decorations.  In case you don’t know, this New York Times bestselling thriller author is a doctor of veterinary medicine. If I didn’t know that before, finding hidden dog statues, pictures and other items would have tipped me off.

One of 3 trees full of memories

Dog statues and items were scattered around the house

The house was full of cute moose

Mr. Rollins has two dogs, both are older and need some extra care.  I’m a dog lover myself and instantly fell in love with them. I think you can tell a lot by how someone’s pets act.  Both were warm and friendly, obviously well-loved and obviously in love with their owner.

James Rollins

Mr. Rollin’s home is spacious, beautiful and practical all at once.  Most of the things that I gravitated toward ended up being items that had been given as gifts or handed down from family members.  There’s nothing like a home full of things given with love and memories.

For anyone who has ever met Mr. Rollins you know he is gracious and that he appreciates all that has come from his success.  He is intelligent, soft-spoken and clever.

A lovely dinner... with Penguins!

Candy Cane themed Christmas tree

As we talked about the holidays and family he recalled a letter that his sister wrote and he allowed me the honor of reading it.  After a brief chat we thought it would be both fun and enlightening to share his sister’s holiday memory of the family and so it is with great pleasure that I share with you a wonderful holiday memory written by Carrie Czajkowski.

From Carrie:

All of my good friends, at one time or another have experienced it.  They all still speak of their experience with a misty-eyed reverence, hoping to with eager intent to be invited back.  But this event is not for the weak of heart or for the rigid waist line.  Yes folks, it is time to put on the elastic waistband, for I give you now a guide to surviving . . .      (pause of exalted apprehension)

the Czajkowski Holiday Dinner.

Mom and Dad’s holiday dinners are rivaled by none! The display of food, warmth and entertainment (mostly this is where Dad comes in) is almost frightening in its magnitude.

The day starts (well our day starts, Mom’s day started weeks before) with a wonderful assault of enticing smelling roasting beast.  You are greeted with a hug and kiss and are directed to some type of appetizer, this could be chips, it could be a cheese ball, but the thing to keep in mind here is to be moderate, save room. Trust me, this will come in handy later.  Dad has you covered with the offer of a beverage and a point to the fridge in the garage (and usually a ‘and grab me one while you are out there’).  If you are lucky he will beguile you with a joke or two early on, but usually he saves his best material for dinner.

At this point the family is catching up on the events of our lives.  Each trying to inject some dry or not so dry humor into their passages.  The sound of some type of game will feed the background. The occasional question will be thrown Moms way about the seasonal specialty, lam cake, chocolate balls, or what have you.

The anticipation builds as Dad carves the main course.  Some try to sneak a bite, but their swindle doesn’t affect the bounty.  Then it truly begins.  The dishes of delight seem to appear out of every orifice of the kitchen.  They roll forward onto the dinning table and unfold into a splendor like you have never seen.  It is like magic.

Everyone joins the table. Trust me, you don’t need to be asked twice.  Dad says grace and everyone starts digging and passing, passing and digging.  Mayhem ensues. Eventually everyone settles into his or her plate of goodness.  Not much talking happens here, just eating lots of eating, seconds, thirds, that just one more bite. Slowly the talking starts again and usually lots of laughing.  Talk about a food buzz, look out.  About this time Dad rolls out the jokes.  Whether the jokes are in good taste or bad, Dad’s delivery is impeccable.  I couldn’t remember a joke to save my life, but Dad has a million of ‘em.

By now, the pants start to feel tight and a nap sounds delicious.  Then it starts again.  The desert.  Not one, not two, usually about eight hundred different deserts are delivered to the table.  You think I exaggerate, but nay, I do not.  Everything you could have dreamed of in the realm of sugary goodness is displayed before you.  I ask you, how do you stop?  You give into it.  Finally, you hurt, the floor calls and you go to it.

In about ten minutes Mom will ask if you want anything else.  Maybe a Twinkie?  It is painful, but for a minute you consider another pecan sandie, they are just so light and airy.

The day winds down in any number of way, going to a movie or renting a good family video, like Basket Case or the Dawn of the Dead trilogy.  But one thing is certain, you will leave full, happy and with a plate of wonderful leftovers (and maybe a little disturbed depending).

Why do I share this story, the analogies are simple, every bit of food and humor here is the love and strength of my family and it is presented freely and in abundance from my parents to us all. My friends were lucky enough to have enjoyed this splendor once or twice in their lives.  I have enjoyed these events my entire life.

I know how lucky I am.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

SNEAK PEEK: THE HIGHLANDER’S IRISH BRIDE BY VANESSA KELLY

0
THE HIGHLANDER'S IRISH BRIDE.  (Clan Kendrick Book 4) BY VANESSA KELLY Vanessa Kelly’s USA Today bestselling series featuring the men of the Kendrick Clan—and the women who...

Children’s 100 Days of Reading Bus Tour Hits the Road This Summer

0
Last month, Penguin Random House partnered with Save the Children for their annual 100 Days of Reading campaign. PRH will donate 50,000 children’s books in addition to providing...

Amazon Launches Kindle Vella, Serialized Stories in a Mobile-First, Interactive Reading Experience

0
Thousands of serialized stories by authors including Audrey Carlan, Hugh Howey, and C. G. Cooper are now available, with the first few episodes of each story free to...

PODCAST: Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell

0
Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell LISTEN HERE! With over 35 stories in print, best-selling author Monique McDonnell has fun, flirty stories to...

SNEAK PEEK: THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON

0
THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON A thrilling new crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and...

SNEAK PEEK: THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE

0
THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE Johnstone Country. Draw Quick, Aim True. Pinkerton. Sheriff. Lawman. Buck Trammel has spent his life fighting for justice....

Christine Feehan’s 2022 Release Schedule!

0
#1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan is a prolific writer as evidenced by this year's new releases. She just released her new...

SNEAK PEEK: STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP

0
STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP An electrifying new novel from the bestselling author of Crimson Phoenix, perfect for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor! Black Ops...

PODCAST:: Author Meka James & Author Lisa Kessler talk Hot Shifters & Sexy Fire...

0
Author Meka James & Author Lisa Kessler talk Hot Shifters & Sexy Fire Fighters LISTEN HERE! Meka James is a writer of adult contemporary and erotic...

Pathway to Prosperity Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/YPOhE-9jkN8 New Book Takes the Mystery Out of Money: Pathway to Prosperity Is it possible to change one’s financial destiny and legacy? Do get-rich-quick schemes...