Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalists

L.McMaken
3-2-12
Cincinnati, OH

 

The 32nd Annual Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalists have just been announced. The Book Prizes are awarded during the L.A. Times Book Festival at the University of Southern California campus.  Awards are given in several categories including; biography, history, young adult, fiction and more. This years nominees included such well known authors as Stephen King, and A.D. Miller.

Also awarded at the event will be the Robert Kirsch Award given for “significant contribution” to American letters. This year’s recipient is Rudolfo Anaya for his 1972 novel, Bless me, Ultima,  described as “a seminal work of Chicano literature.”

The 3rd Annual Innovator’s Award will be presented to Figment, a “digital writing community for teens.”

Here are the fiction nominees:

Fiction

Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor (Frances Coady Book/Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

The Cat’s Table by Michael Ondaatje (Knopf)

The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka (Knopf)

Binocular Vision: New & Selected Stories by Edith Pearlman (Lookout Books/University of North Carolina Wilmington)

Luminarium by Alex Shakar (SoHo Press)

For a complete list visit the L.A. Times Book Prize website.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

SNEAK PEEK: COMING HOME TO SEASHELL HARBOR BY MIRANDA LIASSON

0
COMING HOME TO SEASHELL HARBOR BY MIRANDA LIASSON An emotional novel about first love, second chances, and what it means to follow your heart from...

SNEAK PEEK: THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE

0
THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE Johnstone Country. Draw Quick, Aim True. Pinkerton. Sheriff. Lawman. Buck Trammel has spent his life fighting for justice....

SNEAK PEEK: THE HIGHLANDER’S IRISH BRIDE BY VANESSA KELLY

0
THE HIGHLANDER'S IRISH BRIDE.  (Clan Kendrick Book 4) BY VANESSA KELLY Vanessa Kelly’s USA Today bestselling series featuring the men of the Kendrick Clan—and the women who...

SNEAK PEEK: MEN ARE FROGS BY SARANNA DEWYLDE

0
Men Are Frogs: A Magical Romance with Humor and Heart (Fairy Godmothers, Inc. Book 2) BY SARANNA DEWYLDE Armed with her trademark mix of quirky...

Pathway to Prosperity Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/YPOhE-9jkN8 New Book Takes the Mystery Out of Money: Pathway to Prosperity Is it possible to change one’s financial destiny and legacy? Do get-rich-quick schemes...

SNEAK PEEK: STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP

0
STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP An electrifying new novel from the bestselling author of Crimson Phoenix, perfect for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor! Black Ops...

PRH Donates 50,000 Books to NBF’s Book Rich Environments Program

0
In the Spring of 2021, Penguin Young Readers and Random House Children’s Books donated a combined 50,000 books to the Book Rich Environments (BRE) program via the National Book Foundation. Penguin...

PODCAST: Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell

0
Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell LISTEN HERE! With over 35 stories in print, best-selling author Monique McDonnell has fun, flirty stories to...

Brightly Storytime Passes 100,000 Subscribers on YouTube

0
Brightly Storytime, the YouTube channel of ReadBrightly.com that features video read-alongs of PRH picture books, passed 100,000 subscribers earlier this month. This puts it...

Children’s 100 Days of Reading Bus Tour Hits the Road This Summer

0
Last month, Penguin Random House partnered with Save the Children for their annual 100 Days of Reading campaign. PRH will donate 50,000 children’s books in addition to providing...