2012 Orwell Prize Shortlist Announced


In honor of George Orwell, the Orwell Prize is: “in its present form by the late Professor Sir Bernard Crick in 1994, ‘to encourage writing in good English – while giving equal value to style and content, politics or public policy, whether political, economic, social or cultural – of a kind aimed at or accessible to the reading public, not to specialist or academic audiences’.”

It is considered the “most prestigious prize for political writing” in Britain. There are four categories in which literary work is judged and considered; book prize, journalism prize, blog prize and special prize. The awards ceremony will be held on May 23, 2012, at Church House in London.

Here is a list of nominees in the book category. For the complete list visit the Orwell Prize website. 

Short lists – Book

dark market

DarkMarket: CyberThieves, CyberCops and You
Misha Glenny

dead men risen book cover

Dead Men Risen
Toby Harnden


Hood Rat
Gavin Knight


people who eat darkness

People Who Eat Darkness: The Fate of Lucie Blackman
Richard Lloyd Parry

beautiful damned

The Beautiful and the Damned: Life in the New India
Siddhartha Deb

the opium war

The Opium War
Julia Lovell