The 2012 Edgar Winners


Named for author Edgar Allan Poe, The Edgar’s are presented by the Mystery Writers of America to the best in writers in the genre. Awards are given in several categories: novel, first novel, paperback original, fact crime, critical/biographical, short story, juvenile, young adult, play, and TV episode.

Here are the 2012 winners in several categories:

Best Novel
Gone by Mo Hayder (Grove/Atlantic – Atlantic Monthly Press)

Best Fact Crime
Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President byCandice Millard (Random House – Doubleday)

Best Juvenile
Icefall by Matthew J. Kirby (Scholastic Press)

Best Young Adult
The Silence of Murder by Dandi Daley Mackall (Random House Children’s Books – Knopf BFYR)

The Simon & Schuster-Mary Higgins Clark Award
Learning to Swim by Sara J. Henry (Crown Publishing Group)

Raven Awards
M is for Mystery Bookstore (San Mateo, CA)
Molly Weston (Meritorious Mysteries)

Visit the MWA website for a complete list of winners.