Charles Dickens Turns 200

2012 celebrates the 200th birthday of literary icon Charles Dickens. Multiple celebrations are being held worldwide and one of them will be at the New York Public Library. A special exhibition – “Charles Dickens: The Key to Character” opened on September 14th and will continue through January 27, 2013.

The exhibition includes illustrations from over 30 artists that have contributed projects to the exhibit, all pieces reflect Dickens writing. Paintings, drawings, watercolors and several pieces of authentic Dickens memorabilia will be on display

From the library  press release: “The exhibition looks at characters across Dickens’s career, from beloved novels like A Tale of Two Cities, Oliver Twist, and David Copperfield to lesser-know works including Martin Chuzzlewit and Dombey and Son…Also on display: an 1867 pocket diary filled with the code Dickens used to communicate with his mistress, Ellen Ternan; a couture gown by Prabal Gurung, a contemporary fashion designer inspired by the decayed elegance of Great Expectations‘s Miss Havisham; and recordings from the special collections of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.”

 

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

Christine Feehan’s 2022 Release Schedule!

0
#1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan is a prolific writer as evidenced by this year's new releases. She just released her new...

Pathway to Prosperity Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/YPOhE-9jkN8 New Book Takes the Mystery Out of Money: Pathway to Prosperity Is it possible to change one’s financial destiny and legacy? Do get-rich-quick schemes...

SNEAK PEEK: MEN ARE FROGS BY SARANNA DEWYLDE

0
Men Are Frogs: A Magical Romance with Humor and Heart (Fairy Godmothers, Inc. Book 2) BY SARANNA DEWYLDE Armed with her trademark mix of quirky...

COLIN KAEPERNICK AND SCHOLASTIC ANNOUNCE MULTI-BOOK DEAL FOR CHILDREN’S BOOKS

0
Colin Kaepernick, renowned activist, change-maker, and athlete, and Scholastic, the global children’s publishing, education, and media company, announce a multi-book publishing deal. Brokered in...

Join The World’s Largest Digital Book Club

0
Public libraries around the globe are connecting their communities of readers together during the next Big Library Read, the world’s largest digital book club. From...

Brightly Storytime Passes 100,000 Subscribers on YouTube

0
Brightly Storytime, the YouTube channel of ReadBrightly.com that features video read-alongs of PRH picture books, passed 100,000 subscribers earlier this month. This puts it...

Prince Harry, The Duke Of Sussex, Will Publish A Literary Memoir With Penguin Random...

0
Prince Harry, The Duke Of Sussex, Will Publish A Literary Memoir With Penguin Random House, Globally In Late 2022 Penguin Random House is honored to...

Amazon Launches Kindle Vella, Serialized Stories in a Mobile-First, Interactive Reading Experience

0
Thousands of serialized stories by authors including Audrey Carlan, Hugh Howey, and C. G. Cooper are now available, with the first few episodes of each story free to...

SNEAK PEEK: STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP

0
STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP An electrifying new novel from the bestselling author of Crimson Phoenix, perfect for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor! Black Ops...

Children’s 100 Days of Reading Bus Tour Hits the Road This Summer

0
Last month, Penguin Random House partnered with Save the Children for their annual 100 Days of Reading campaign. PRH will donate 50,000 children’s books in addition to providing...