spot_img

NY Times on the Great e-Book Debate

There has been debate since the first e-book debuted about the grammatically correct way to spell it and other ‘cyber-age’ words. Even revered sources such as Oxford’s Dictionary, the AP Style Guide or the Chicago Manual of Style haven’t always agreed on the correct way to spell these newly added idioms in our vernacular.

The just released style-guide from the New York Times should clarify some, though not all of the grammar, at least when writing for their newspaper. The NY Times Style Guide however, usually impacts nearly all major news services. For those of us who write online news, here is the New York Times Style Guide on how to cite many of these cyber words.

“e-book” will remain hyphenated

“e-mail” should be spelled “email” 

“Web site”  is a single uncapitalized word –  “website.” 

“Internet” is capitalized

“to tweet” will be allowed as a verb

They do discourage using “tweet,” “google,” or “friend” referring to their use as “too informal”.

 

 

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,077FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

SNEAK PEEK: BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles

0
BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Mitch Albom, Charles Martin, and Richard Paul Evans, Before I Go is at once a tender...

Book Review: “The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah

0
“The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah 1921, Texas panhandle Elsa Wolcott is 25 years old, far past the time to marry. She is not loved by her...

BOOKY CALL Celebrates Almost a Million Swipes

0
Book Discovery App to Mark Its Millionth Match as Users Swoon Over Book Dates When co-founders Brant Menswar and Jim Knight brainstormed a dating app to connect users to...

SNEAK PEEK: An Amish Christmas StarbyShelley Shepard Gray, Charlotte Hubbard, Rosalind Lauer

0
An Amish Christmas Star by Shelley Shepard Gray, Charlotte Hubbard, Rosalind Lauer Filled with faith, family, and a whole lot of heart, New York Times bestselling author Shelley...

Warm Up With These Drink Pairings While You Read

0
We all know reading with a favorite snack handy is nothing short of the best but have you paired your next read with a...

Talking with Stephenia H. McGee About The Secrets of Emberwild

0
Welcome, Stephenia. Tell about The Secrets of Emberwild? In this story, a young woman struggles against the confines of her time and is determined to...

SNEAK PEEK: One Last Chance by Kat Martin

0
One Last Chance by Kat Martin New York Times bestselling author Kat Martin mixes high-octane adventure with sizzling romance for an explosive thriller featuring a dangerous...

SCHOLASTIC KIDS PRESS PROGRAM ANNOUNCES 2022-23 KID REPORTERS

0
As kids continue to navigate and make sense of complex global events as well as the goings-on in their community, staying informed and understanding...

SNEAK PEEK & FIRST CHAPTER READ OF BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE

0
BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE (Pre-order now!) “That’s not my sister.” Overwhelmed by shock and relief, those are the only words Deven can muster when she...

Embracing The Magic By S.A. Schneider

0
Embracing The Magic A stunning debut book by author and podcaster, S.A. Schneider Their hero is a fraud and only he knows it. When the truth...