spot_img

Mystery Weekly Magazine is Highlighting Sherlock Holmes

sherlockMystery Weekly Magazine’s highly anticipated Sherlock Holmes themed issue hits digital newstands on October 1, and marks the 13th monthly issue by this relatively new crime fiction publication.

1) Read 3 new Sherlock Holmes Adventures
2) Sherlock Holmes meets the elephant man?
3) How to build a Ghost…

Get the answer to this and more in October’s Mystery Weekly Magazine. Their highly anticipated Sherlock Holmes themed issue hits digital newstands on October 1, and marks the 13th monthly issue by this relatively new crime fiction publication.

If you’ve read the complete works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and were left wanting more, then you might be delighted to learn that there remains a flourishing Sherlock Holmes pastiche writing community.  And after reading some of these new stories, you might further be surprised by how true to the original author’s voice they can be; how well they can conjure up the sights, sounds and smells of Victorian London.

A shining example is found in the first story of this issue:  “The Adventure Of The Missing Princess”, by Michael Mallory. It begins when a medical colleague visits Watson at his surgery, with a story about a missing princess and, believe it or not, the Elephant Man. He asks if he could persuade his friend Sherlock to look into the matter discretely. Holmes makes his appearance in typical dramatic fashion, and quickly connects the dots, leaving the reader marvelling at how he or she had overlooked the obvious.

This story is accompanied by several more Sherlock stories and articles, and a few very compelling non-Sherlock stories as well. All of the stories in this issue are excellent, and I can’t describe them all here. But one of my personal favorites is “Acid Test” by Allen Lang, a refreshingly original story about an amateur scientist who tries to create ghosts in his basement laboratory. This is a story you won’t want to miss.

If you buy just one issue of Mystery Weekly this year, then this should be it. It will be available in the Kindle store, on the digital newstand Magzter, through our Apps in the app store, on Amazon and via PayPal from our website (http://www.mysteryweekly.com/subscribe.asp).  A few of the stories will also be sent out in our weekly newsletter. To sign up for free with just your email address, go here: http://eepurl.com/byko8v

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,077FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

Embracing The Magic By S.A. Schneider

0
Embracing The Magic A stunning debut book by author and podcaster, S.A. Schneider Their hero is a fraud and only he knows it. When the truth...

SNEAK PEEK: An Amish Christmas StarbyShelley Shepard Gray, Charlotte Hubbard, Rosalind Lauer

0
An Amish Christmas Star by Shelley Shepard Gray, Charlotte Hubbard, Rosalind Lauer Filled with faith, family, and a whole lot of heart, New York Times bestselling author Shelley...

LOVE COMES TO PATIENCE IN RESIDENT ALIEN: THE BOOK OF LOVE

0
Harry finds love in the newest chapter of the hit comic series Dark Horse Comics teams up once again with Peter Hogan and Steve Parkhouse...

Talking with Stephenia H. McGee About The Secrets of Emberwild

0
Welcome, Stephenia. Tell about The Secrets of Emberwild? In this story, a young woman struggles against the confines of her time and is determined to...

SNEAK PEEK: BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles

0
BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Mitch Albom, Charles Martin, and Richard Paul Evans, Before I Go is at once a tender...

SNEAK PEEK: One Last Chance by Kat Martin

0
One Last Chance by Kat Martin New York Times bestselling author Kat Martin mixes high-octane adventure with sizzling romance for an explosive thriller featuring a dangerous...

BOOKY CALL Celebrates Almost a Million Swipes

0
Book Discovery App to Mark Its Millionth Match as Users Swoon Over Book Dates When co-founders Brant Menswar and Jim Knight brainstormed a dating app to connect users to...

There’s a Book for That: Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

0
Visit I Am La Cultura and join us in celebrating Latinx and Hispanic authors, creators, and trailblazers whose stories are redefining identity and shaping today’s culture,...

Book Review: “The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah

0
“The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah 1921, Texas panhandle Elsa Wolcott is 25 years old, far past the time to marry. She is not loved by her...

NEW SCHOLASTIC PROFESSIONAL BOOK, READING ABOVE THE FRAY, BRINGS THE SCIENCE OF READING INTO...

0
Scholastic, the global children's publishing, education, and media company, today announced the release of Reading Above the Fray which is a practical guide for teachers looking...