Los Angeles Times 2018 Book Festival Winners Announced


festivalThe Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were first awarded in 1980, with the idea of honoring literary excellence and celebrating the community of readers in Los Angeles. The inspiration of former Times book editor Art Seidenbaum, those first prizes included awards in four book categories – fiction, history, general nonfiction and poetry – as well as the inaugural Robert Kirsch Award, which was presented to Wallace Stegner for his extraordinary career and dedication to the literature of the west.


Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction

Jenny Zhang, Sour Heart, Lenny / Random House


Laura Dassow Walls,  Henry David Thoreau: A Life, University Of Chicago Press

The Christopher Isherwood Prize for Autobiographical Prose Winner

Current Interest

Nancy MacLean, Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right’s Stealth Plan for America, Viking


Mohsin Hamid, Exit West, Riverhead Books

Graphic Novel / Comics

Leslie Stein, Present, Drawn and Quarterly


Dan Egan, The Death and Life of the Great Lakes, W. W. Norton & Company

Mystery / Thriller

Joyce Carol Oates, A Book of American Martyrs, Ecco


Patricia Smith, Incendiary Art: PoemsTriQuarterly Books/Northwestern University Press

Science & Technology

Robert M. Sapolsky, Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst, Penguin Press

Young Adult Literature

Jason Reynolds, Long Way Down, Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books