Barnes & Noble Latest Book Club Selection

Barnes & Noble has announced that SWIMS FOREVER by Florence Adler. B&N will be hosting a virtual book club featuring Swims Forever on August 4th. Follow this link to join.

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse.

“Rachel Beanland is a writer of uncommon wit and wisdom, with a sharp and empathetic eye for character. She’ll win you over in the most old fashioned of ways: She simply tells a hell of a story.” —Rebecca Makkai, Pulitzer Finalist for The Great Believers

Atlantic City, 1934. Every summer, Esther and Joseph Adler rent their house out to vacationers escaping to “America’s Playground” and move into the small apartment above their bakery. Despite the cramped quarters, this is the apartment where they raised their two daughters, Fannie and Florence, and it always feels like home.

Now Florence has returned from college, determined to spend the summer training to swim the English Channel, and Fannie, pregnant again after recently losing a baby, is on bedrest for the duration of her pregnancy. After Joseph insists they take in a mysterious young woman whom he recently helped emigrate from Nazi Germany, the apartment is bursting at the seams.

Esther only wants to keep her daughters close and safe but some matters are beyond her control: there’s Fannie’s risky pregnancy—not to mention her always-scheming husband, Isaac—and the fact that the handsome heir of a hotel notorious for its anti-Semitic policies, seems to be in love with Florence.

When tragedy strikes, Esther makes the shocking decision to hide the truth—at least until Fannie’s baby is born—and pulls the family into an elaborate web of secret-keeping and lies, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface that reveal how quickly the act of protecting those we love can turn into betrayal.

Based on a true story and told in the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions and Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl, Beanland’s family saga is a breathtaking portrait of just how far we will go to in order to protect our loved ones and an uplifting portrayal of how the human spirit can endure—and even thrive—after tragedy.

Jocie McKade
Jocie McKadehttps://www.jociemckade.com/
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,024FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,200SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

There’s a Book for That: Women’s History Month

0
Welcome March and Women’s History Month. In 1987, Congress designated the month of March “Women’s History Month.” In President Biden’s proclamation of March 1,...

SNEAK PEEK: Obsession by Patricia Bradley

0
Obsession by Patricia Bradley A Tale of Obsession and Second Chances In 2020, Daphne Du Maurier Award winning author Patricia Bradley introduced a fresh cast of...

QUICK LOOK: Snarc 2: The Journey Continues!!!

0
Snarc 2:  The Journey Continues!!! Welcome to Snarc 2, the continuing adventures of Snarc, our favorite intergalactic traveler, and his companion Cosmic Staff. As you...

BEHIND THE WORDS: Author Lynn Blackburn

0
Welcome Lynn, we’re excited to have you on Reader’s Entertainment. First, tell our readers a bit about yourself. Where you’re from, where you live?...

PODCAST: Traveling the world with author and journalist McGarvey Black

0
Traveling the world with author and journalist McGarvey Black LISTEN HERE!! A theatre major in college, McGarvey Black pursued an acting career for a few years. From there...

SNEAK PEEK: DANGER IN NUMBERS BY HEATHER GRAHAM

0
Danger In Numbers by Heather Graham When a ritualistic murder shakes a small north Florida community, an agent from the State police is forced to...

HarperCollins Focus launches new Fiction imprint Harper Muse

0
HarperCollins Focus announced today the launch of its new book imprint, Harper Muse. Expanding the publishing company’s footprint into general market adult fiction, Harper...

Shaped By Love by Jill Eileen Smith

0
Celebrating Women's History Month SHAPED BY LOVE Guest Post By Jill Eileen Smith Looking back. I do a lot of that for some reason. Perhaps it is...

March Means Thrillers….and Suspense…..and Women’s History…..

0
If you love thrillers, and you love finding great new authors, stay turned March is gonna be. . . . explosive, with a few...

SNEAK PEEK: Warriors of the Sacred Garden: Mila: Iron and Silk by E. I....

0
Warriors of the Sacred Garden: Mila: Iron and Silk by E. I. Landa Deep in the heart of Amazonas, in the Cloud Forest, a...