spot_img

Barnes & Noble Latest Book Club Selection

Barnes & Noble has announced that SWIMS FOREVER by Florence Adler. B&N will be hosting a virtual book club featuring Swims Forever on August 4th. Follow this link to join.

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse.

“Rachel Beanland is a writer of uncommon wit and wisdom, with a sharp and empathetic eye for character. She’ll win you over in the most old fashioned of ways: She simply tells a hell of a story.” —Rebecca Makkai, Pulitzer Finalist for The Great Believers

Atlantic City, 1934. Every summer, Esther and Joseph Adler rent their house out to vacationers escaping to “America’s Playground” and move into the small apartment above their bakery. Despite the cramped quarters, this is the apartment where they raised their two daughters, Fannie and Florence, and it always feels like home.

Now Florence has returned from college, determined to spend the summer training to swim the English Channel, and Fannie, pregnant again after recently losing a baby, is on bedrest for the duration of her pregnancy. After Joseph insists they take in a mysterious young woman whom he recently helped emigrate from Nazi Germany, the apartment is bursting at the seams.

Esther only wants to keep her daughters close and safe but some matters are beyond her control: there’s Fannie’s risky pregnancy—not to mention her always-scheming husband, Isaac—and the fact that the handsome heir of a hotel notorious for its anti-Semitic policies, seems to be in love with Florence.

When tragedy strikes, Esther makes the shocking decision to hide the truth—at least until Fannie’s baby is born—and pulls the family into an elaborate web of secret-keeping and lies, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface that reveal how quickly the act of protecting those we love can turn into betrayal.

Based on a true story and told in the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions and Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl, Beanland’s family saga is a breathtaking portrait of just how far we will go to in order to protect our loved ones and an uplifting portrayal of how the human spirit can endure—and even thrive—after tragedy.

Jocie McKadehttps://www.jociemckade.com/
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,077FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

PLAGUE UNLEASHED by DC Gomez

0
PLAGUE UNLEASHED The Intern Diaries Series continues by USA Today Best-selling author, DC Gomez 2021 First Place Winner for YA Fiction in the North Texas Book...

BOOK REVIEW: When Grace Found Me: Real-Life Stories of Women of Faith

0
When Grace Found Me: Real-Life Stories of Women of Faith Author Kim Lengling is a freelance writer and author who had a spiritual moment of...

PODCAST::: Road Rage and Dark Romance with author Karina Kantas

0
Road Rage and Dark Romance with author Karina Kantas LISTEN HERE! Karina is a bestselling author of 14 titles covering most fiction genres, including thriller novels...

SNEAK PEEK: PHOTO FINISHED By Christin Brecher

0
PHOTO FINISHED By Christin Brecher (Pre-order available) With biting wit, a young lens, and satisfying sleuthing, the first in Christin Brecher’s brand new Snapshot of NYC...

Cheers to These Book and Drink Pairings

0
What’s summer without booze and books? It’s the perfect time to sprawl out at the pool with a good cocktail in hand and a...

SNEAK PEEK: DANGEROUS BEAUTY By Melissa Koslin

0
DANGEROUS BEAUTY By Melissa Koslin (Pre-order Available) Melissa Koslin is making a name for herself in the romantic suspromancense genre with her engaging mysteries that draw...

SNEAK PEEK: A Trace of Poison by Colleen Cambridge

0
A Trace of Poison by Colleen Cambridge (Available for pre-order) Phyllida Bright, housekeeper to the grand dame of murder mysteries, Agatha Christie, must uncover the killer...

Songwriter / Singer Chloey Rose Releasing GOLDEN SUN

0
GOLDEN SUN RELEASING TODAY! Chloey Rose is an act on the rise. Drawing inspiration from Kate Bush and Taylor Swift, Chloey is set to release...

SNEAK PEEK: Beneath The Bending Skies by Jane Kirkpatrick

0
Beneath The Bending Skies by Jane Kirkpatrick Bestselling and award-winning author Jane Kirkpatrick has brought the West to life in her inspiring novels based upon...

MINOR THREATS CHRISTIAN WARD FOC VARIANT ANNOUNCED!

0
From Patton Oswalt and Jordan Blum, the showrunners behind the hit Hulu series Marvel’s M.O.D.O.K., comes their first creator-owned series Minor Threats. Featuring superstar artist...