spot_img

Barnes & Noble Latest Book Club Selection

Barnes & Noble has announced that SWIMS FOREVER by Florence Adler. B&N will be hosting a virtual book club featuring Swims Forever on August 4th. Follow this link to join.

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse.

“Rachel Beanland is a writer of uncommon wit and wisdom, with a sharp and empathetic eye for character. She’ll win you over in the most old fashioned of ways: She simply tells a hell of a story.” —Rebecca Makkai, Pulitzer Finalist for The Great Believers

Atlantic City, 1934. Every summer, Esther and Joseph Adler rent their house out to vacationers escaping to “America’s Playground” and move into the small apartment above their bakery. Despite the cramped quarters, this is the apartment where they raised their two daughters, Fannie and Florence, and it always feels like home.

Now Florence has returned from college, determined to spend the summer training to swim the English Channel, and Fannie, pregnant again after recently losing a baby, is on bedrest for the duration of her pregnancy. After Joseph insists they take in a mysterious young woman whom he recently helped emigrate from Nazi Germany, the apartment is bursting at the seams.

Esther only wants to keep her daughters close and safe but some matters are beyond her control: there’s Fannie’s risky pregnancy—not to mention her always-scheming husband, Isaac—and the fact that the handsome heir of a hotel notorious for its anti-Semitic policies, seems to be in love with Florence.

When tragedy strikes, Esther makes the shocking decision to hide the truth—at least until Fannie’s baby is born—and pulls the family into an elaborate web of secret-keeping and lies, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface that reveal how quickly the act of protecting those we love can turn into betrayal.

Based on a true story and told in the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions and Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl, Beanland’s family saga is a breathtaking portrait of just how far we will go to in order to protect our loved ones and an uplifting portrayal of how the human spirit can endure—and even thrive—after tragedy.

Jocie McKadehttps://www.jociemckade.com/
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,106FollowersFollow
10,500SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

SNEAK PEEK: HOLLYWOOD ENDING BY TASH SKILTON

0
HOLLYWOOD ENDING BY TASH SKILTON This friends-to-lovers rom-com from the inimitable duo Tash Skilton, authors of Ghosting: A Love Story, explores the hilarious highs and lows of...

HOUSE OF SLAUGHTER #1 Variant Cover by Gabriele Dell’Otto

0
BOOM! Studios revealed today a super rare variant cover by acclaimed artist Gabriele Dell’Otto (Detective Comics) for HOUSE OF SLAUGHTER #1, the premiere issue of...

SNEAK PEEK: MONEY PLAIN AND SIMPLE BY STEVEN J. SPENCE

0
MONEY PLAIN AND SIMPLE What the Institutions and the Elite Don't Want You to Know A STUNNING DEBUT BY STEVEN J. SPENCE A straightforward guide to understanding...

SNEAK PEEK: LIVE FOR JOY BY ANNE SCOTTLIN

0
LIVE FOR JOY BY ANNE SCOTTLIN Anne Scottlin delivers fresh motivational insights and succinct morsels of philosophy to help inspire your practice of self-awareness...

PODCAST:: Adventure through the Wastelands with Author Jenna Greene on Book Lights

0
Adventure through the Wastelands with Author Jenna Greene on Book Lights LISTEN HERE! Jenna Greene is an elementary school teacher. When she isn't teaching or writing,...

SNEAK PEEK: THE COWBOY WHO SAVED CHRISTMAS BY Jodi Thomas, Sharla Lovelace, Linda Broday

0
THE COWBOY WHO SAVED CHRISTMAS BY Jodi Thomas, Sharla Lovelace, Linda Broday The Lone Star State doesn’t have to be lonely… Headlined by New York Times and USA Today bestselling authors...

OVERDRIVE DONATES KIDS & TEENS TITLES TO PUBLIC LIBRARIES WORLDWIDE

0
To help libraries meet increased demand for digital content, OverDrive donated 260 juvenile and young adult titles to more than 21,000 public libraries around the world....

SNEAK PEEK: MIDNIGHT DANCE BY JOANNA DAVIDSON POLITANO

0
A SNEAK PEEK AT MIDNIGHT DANCE BY JOANNA DAVIDSON POLITANO AND A BEHIND THE WORDS LOOK AT THE BOOK WITH THE AUTHOR Mystery and Romance...

BEHIND THE WORDS AUTHOR V.S. HOLMES ANCIENT BONES, NEW SCIENCE

0
Hello again! Stopping by Reader’s Entertainment is always fun, and it’s been a little while. I’m V, internationally bestselling sci-fi fantasy author, nerd, and archaeologist....

My Favorite Dessert by Loren Rhoads

0
My Favorite Dessert by Loren Rhoads A couple of years ago, I hit upon the perfect way to celebrate my birthday. A restaurant opened in...