Barnes & Noble Latest Book Club Selection

Barnes & Noble has announced that SWIMS FOREVER by Florence Adler. B&N will be hosting a virtual book club featuring Swims Forever on August 4th. Follow this link to join.

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse.

“Rachel Beanland is a writer of uncommon wit and wisdom, with a sharp and empathetic eye for character. She’ll win you over in the most old fashioned of ways: She simply tells a hell of a story.” —Rebecca Makkai, Pulitzer Finalist for The Great Believers

Atlantic City, 1934. Every summer, Esther and Joseph Adler rent their house out to vacationers escaping to “America’s Playground” and move into the small apartment above their bakery. Despite the cramped quarters, this is the apartment where they raised their two daughters, Fannie and Florence, and it always feels like home.

Now Florence has returned from college, determined to spend the summer training to swim the English Channel, and Fannie, pregnant again after recently losing a baby, is on bedrest for the duration of her pregnancy. After Joseph insists they take in a mysterious young woman whom he recently helped emigrate from Nazi Germany, the apartment is bursting at the seams.

Esther only wants to keep her daughters close and safe but some matters are beyond her control: there’s Fannie’s risky pregnancy—not to mention her always-scheming husband, Isaac—and the fact that the handsome heir of a hotel notorious for its anti-Semitic policies, seems to be in love with Florence.

When tragedy strikes, Esther makes the shocking decision to hide the truth—at least until Fannie’s baby is born—and pulls the family into an elaborate web of secret-keeping and lies, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface that reveal how quickly the act of protecting those we love can turn into betrayal.

Based on a true story and told in the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions and Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl, Beanland’s family saga is a breathtaking portrait of just how far we will go to in order to protect our loved ones and an uplifting portrayal of how the human spirit can endure—and even thrive—after tragedy.

Jocie McKadehttps://www.jociemckade.com/
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

Will Smith Penning Memoir

0
Penguin Press will publish WILL, a memoir by two-time Academy Award nominee, Grammy Award and NAACP Image Award winner Will Smith, on November 9, 2021. Smith celebrated this...

The Lost Feehan Trailers – Dark Melody, Dark Secret and Magic in the Wind

0
It's always exciting to watch book trailers and no author is more well-known for her trailers as Christine Feehan whose Dark Symphony book trailer...

The Ailing Nation: Lessons from the Bedside for America’s Leaders Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/HmiHGvziFiQ   The Ailing Nation: Lessons From the Bedside for America's Leaders by Dr. Nate Link Prominent NY Doctor Diagnoses Decades of Failure in US Politics in...

Solid Ground A Foundation For Winning by T.W. Lewis Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/CzeBU3oQhqc   “Tom Lewis has provided a roadmap for a richer, more meaningful, and happier life. Take that road!” – Dennis Prager, author and syndicated talk...

SNEAK PEEK: GARKAIN BY Anna J. Walner

0
GARKAIN BY Anna J. Walner GARKAIN 00 Book One of The Uluru Legacy Series The Award-Winning Vampire Debut By Texas’s Own, Anna J. Walner ***LISTED...

SCHOLASTIC TEAMS UP WITH 5 FEMALE LEADERS TO DEBUT NEW “RISING VOICES” K–5 CLASSROOM...

0
SCHOLASTIC TEAMS UP WITH 5 FEMALE LEADERS TO DEBUT NEW “RISING VOICES” K–5 CLASSROOM LIBRARY COLLECTION The Second Collection in the Rising Voices Library® Series...

Shadow Storm Book Trailer

0
Christine Feehan's latest Shadow Riders series book is out and we're thrilled to share the book trailer with you! Shadow Storm is a Romeo and...

THE 105th ANNUAL PULITZER PRIZES IN JOURNALISM, LETTERS, DRAMA AND MUSIC

0
Columbia University today announces the 2021 Pulitzer Prizes, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board. For more information on this year’s Prize finalists and...

WHAT MY FATHER TAUGHT ME BY JENNIFER ANNE GORDON

0
Special Feature -- Celebrating Father's Day with Authors! WHAT MY FATHER TAUGHT ME BY JENNIFER ANNE GORDON This question, it’s a loaded one. One the surface...

WHAT MY FATHER TAUGHT ME BY V.S. HOLMES

0
Special Feature --- Celebrating Fathers What My Father Taught Me By V.S. Holmes It would be easy to say my father taught me everything. It’d almost...