National Library Lovers Month

0
174

“I always knew from that moment, from the time I found myself at home in that little segregated library in the South, all the way up until I walked up the steps of the New York City library, I always felt, in any town, if I can get to a library, I’ll be OK. It really helped me as a child, and that never left me.” —Maya Angelou

Do you love your library? National Library Lovers’ Month is in February, and it’s dedicated to people who love their libraries for all they do for them. To join in the affection, we’ve pulled together some of the best fiction set in libraries, or with librarian characters – across genres, for all ages. Check them out at your local library!

 

Our Missing Hearts by Celeste NgOUR MISSING HEARTS by Celeste Ng

A Reese’s Book Club pick

Twelve-year-old Bird Gardner lives a quiet existence with his loving father, a former linguist who now shelves books in a university library. His mother Margaret, a Chinese American poet, left without a trace when he was nine years old. He doesn’t know what happened to her—only that her books have been banned—and he resents that she cared more about her work than about him. Then one day, Bird receives a mysterious letter containing only a cryptic drawing, and soon he is pulled into a quest to find her. His journey will take him back to the many folktales she poured into his head as a child, through the ranks of an underground network of heroic librarians, and finally to New York City, where he will finally learn the truth about what happened to his mother, and what the future holds for them both.

 

The Midnight Library by Matt HaigTHE MIDNIGHT LIBRARY by Matt Haig

A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel)

Somewhere out beyond the edge of the universe there is a library that contains an infinite number of books, each one the story of another reality. One tells the story of your life as it is, along with another book for the other life you could have lived if you had made a different choice at any point in your life. In The Midnight Library, Matt Haig’s enchanting novel, Nora Seed finds herself faced with this decision. Faced with the possibility of changing her life for a new one, following a different career, undoing old breakups, realizing her dreams of becoming a glaciologist; she must search within herself as she travels through the Midnight Library to decide what is truly fulfilling in life, and what makes it worth living in the first place.

 

Murder at the Lakeside Library by Holly DanversMURDER AT THE LAKESIDE LIBRARY (#1) by Holly Danvers

Perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James, the Lakeside Library mysteries feature Rain Wilmot and her family’s waterfront cabin in quaint Lofty Pines, where Rain must juggle running the library with sleuthing the slaying of locals.

 

 

Stories of Books and Libraries by STORIES OF BOOKS AND LIBRARIES edited by Jane Holloway

The characters in the delightful stories collected here range all the way from the ink-stained medieval monks in Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose to the book-besotted denizens of Ali Smith’s Public Library and Other Stories. In these pages readers are invited to enter the interior lives of librarians in Lorrie Moore’s “Community Life” and Elizabeth McCracken’s “Juliet” and are ushered into a host of unusual libraries, including the infinite rooms of Jorge Luis Borges’s “The Library of Babel” and a secret library in Helen Oyeyemi’s “Books and Roses.”

 

The Library of the Unwritten by A. J. HackwithTHE LIBRARY OF THE UNWRITTEN by A.J. Hackwith

In the first book in a brilliant new fantasy series, books that aren’t finished by their authors reside in the Library of the Unwritten in Hell, and it is up to the Librarian to track down any restless characters who emerge from those unfinished stories.

 

 

The Last Chance Library by Freya SampsonTHE LAST CHANCE LIBRARY by Freya Sampson

Lonely librarian June Jones has never left the sleepy English village where she grew up. Shy and reclusive, the thirty-year-old would rather spend her time buried in books than venture out into the world. But when her library is threatened with closure, June is forced to emerge from behind the shelves to save the heart of her community and the place that holds the dearest memories of her mother.

 

The Lions of Fifth Avenue by Fiona DavisTHE LIONS OF FIFTH AVENUE: A NOVEL by Fiona Davis

A Good Morning America Book Club Pick

In Fiona Davis’s latest historical novel, a series of book thefts roils the iconic New York Public Library, leaving two generations of strong-willed women to pick up the pieces.

 

 

Weather by Jenny OffillWEATHER by Jenny Offill

Lizzie works in the library of a university where she was once a promising graduate student. Her side hustle is answering the letters that come in to “Hell and High Water”, the doom-laden podcast hosted by her former mentor. At first it suits her, this chance to practice her other calling as an unofficial shrink—she has always played this role to her divorced mother and brother recovering from addiction—but soon Lizzie finds herself struggling to strike the obligatory note of hope in her responses. The reassuring rhythms of her life as a wife and mother begin to falter as her obsession with disaster psychology and people preparing for the end of the world grows.

 

The Borrower by Rebecca MakkaiTHE BORROWER: A NOVEL by Rebecca Makkai

Lucy Hull, a children’s librarian in Hannibal, Missouri, finds herself both kidnapper and kidnapped when her favorite patron, ten-year-old Ian Drake, runs away from home. Ian needs Lucy’s help to smuggle books past his overbearing mother, who has enrolled Ian in weekly antigay classes. Desperate to save him from the Drakes, Lucy allows herself to be hijacked by Ian when she finds him camped out in the library after hours, and the odd pair embarks on a crazy road trip. But is it just Ian who is running away? And should Lucy be trying to save a boy from his own parents?

 

FOR YOUNGER READERS

 

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library: The Graphic Novel by Chris GrabensteinESCAPE FROM MR. LEMONCELLO’S LIBRARY: THE GRAPHIC NOVEL by Chris Grabenstein, Douglas Holgate

Find out if game-loving Kyle Keeley can escape from what James Patterson calls “the coolest library in all the world” in this fun-filled graphic novel from the much-loved co-author of Treasure Hunters and the bestselling illustrator of The Last Kids on Earth!

 

 

Love in the Library by Maggie Tokuda-HallLOVE IN THE LIBRARY by Maggie Tokuda-Hall, Yas Imamura

After the bombing of Pearl Harbor, Tama is sent to live in a War Relocation Center in the desert. All Japanese Americans from the West Coast—elderly people, children, babies—now live in prison camps like Minidoka. Trying not to think of the life she once had, she works in the camp’s tiny library, taking solace in pages bursting with color and light, love and fairness. And she isn’t the only one. George waits each morning by the door, his arms piled with books checked out the day before. As their friendship grows, Tama wonders: Can anyone possibly read so much? Is she the reason George comes to the library every day? Maggie Tokuda-Hall’s beautifully illustrated, elegant love story features a photo of the real Tama and George—the author’s grandparents—along with an afterword and other back matter for readers to learn more about a time in our history that continues to resonate.

 

Digging for Words by Angela Burke KunkelDIGGING FOR WORDS: JOSÉ ALBERTO GUTIÉRREZ AND THE LIBRARY HE BUILT by Angela Burke Kunkel, Paola Escobar

A gorgeous and inspiring picture book based on the life of José Alberto Gutiérrez, a garbage collector in Bogotá, Colombia who started a library with a single discarded book found on his route.

 

 

Schomburg: The Man Who Built a Library by Carole Boston WeatherfordSCHOMBURG: THE MAN WHO BUILT A LIBRARY by Carole Boston Weatherford; Illustrated by Eric Velasquez

Amid the scholars, poets, authors, and artists of the Harlem Renaissance stood an Afro–Puerto Rican named Arturo Schomburg. This law clerk’s life’s passion was to collect books, letters, music, and art from Africa and the African diaspora and bring to light the achievements of people of African descent through the ages. When Schomburg’s collection became so big it began to overflow his house (and his wife threatened to mutiny), he turned to the New York Public Library, where he created and curated a collection that was the cornerstone of a new Negro Division. A century later, his groundbreaking collection, known as the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, has become a beacon to scholars all over the world.

For more on these and many other library themed titles visit: Libraries and Librarians

For National Library Month ideas and info check out L.A. County Library’s page here

PenguinRandomHouse

Previous articleGuest Post: Herbal Help for Coughs and Colds by Anna Franklin
Next articleBehind The Words With Jill Eileen Smith
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.