Announcing The 18th Annual National Indie Excellence® Awards


An established leader in writing contests, The National Indie Excellence® Awards are open to recent English language books in print by independent authors and titles published by small to medium sized imprints across all genres. Judging is complete for the annual competition and the results are now online with Winner and Finalists on display in each category as well as the Sponsorship Prizes and the Juror’s Choice awards.

Winner and Finalist awards are determined primarily by a book’s written content coupled with the various informational, functional, and designed elements that comprise a publication. NIEA Jurors analyze each title using specific standards and metrics ultimately reaching a final consensus after lengthy individual review.

NIEA’s Sponsorship Awards offer professional development, resources, consultations, marketing, and distribution assistance, etc.; in addition, three Juror’s Choice Awards are selected from the overall groups of both Winners and Finalists to receive monetary prizes. The 18th Annual Juror’s Choice was awarded by celebrated Author and educator Ben Loory. All awardees become eligible for free listing in the NIEA Speaker’s Bureau as well.

We are glad to see self/independent authors and publishers thriving again this year, putting forth their best works in each genre, thus making the juror’s work harder than ever! Ultimately there can be only one winner per category, but the competition is fierce, and we stand behind all the titles that have received NIEA awards as extraordinarily strong contributions to the field.”
-Doug Fogelson
NIEA President