National Book Awards Finalists 2011

L. McMaken
Cincinnati, OH


The National Book Awards have just announced their finalists for 2011. First organized in 1950 to highlight the best in American literature, many past reciepients have become symbolic icons of classic American prose – William Faulkner, Saul Bellow, Wallace Stevens, Rachel Carson, Ralph Ellison, W.H. Auden, Marianne Moore, and Bernard Malamud.

Awards are given in four categories: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young adult literature. Here are the nominees for 2011:

Andrew Krivak, The Sojourn
Téa ObrehtThe Tiger’s Wife
Julie OtsukaThe Buddha in the Attic
Edith PearlmanBinocular Vision
Jesmyn WardSalvage the Bones

Deborah Baker, The Convert: A Tale of Exile and Extremism
Mary GabrielLove and Capital: Karl and Jenny Marx and the Birth of a Revolution
Stephen Greenblatt, The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
Manning MarableMalcolm X: A Life of Reinvention
Lauren RednissRadioactive: Marie & Pierre Curie, A Tale of Love and Fallout


Nikky FinneyHead Off & Split
Yusef Komunyakaa, The Chameleon Couch
Carl PhillipsDouble Shadow
Adrienne RichTonight No Poetry Will Serve: Poems 2007-2010
Bruce SmithDevotions

Franny BillingsleyChime
Debby Dahl EdwardsonMy Name Is Not Easy
Thanhha LaiInside Out and Back Again
Albert MarrinFlesh and Blood So Cheap: The Triangle Fire and Its Legacy
Lauren MyracleShine
Gary D. SchmidtOkay for Now

The winners will be announced during a reception on November 16, 2011 in New York. Two additional awards will be given at the ceremony; the 2011 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters will be awarded to poet John Ashbery. Mitchell Kaplan, co-founder of the Miami Book Fair International will receive the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community. The event will be hosted by actor, John Lithgow.


Similar Articles




Recent Book Trailers



Don't Miss

Book Lights Dives into the World of Ryuujin with Fantasy Author Marc Watson

LISTEN HERE!! Marc Watson is an author of genre fiction of all lengths and styles. He began writing at the age of 15 and continues...

There’s a Book for That: Thanksgiving 2020

Tomorrow we celebrate Thanksgiving like no other before it, probably. While the food traditions may be the same, our guests will be fewer as...

Thankful Thanksgiving Wishes

Reader’s Entertainment Magazine and Radio started over a decade ago. We have won awards both for the magazine and the radio podcast. We’ve featured...

The Most Followed People on Goodreads

Goodreads is a popular reader destination site that launched in December of 2006 (though many sites credit the founded year as 2007) by Otis...

Barnes & Noble Announces 2020 Book of the Year Finalists

Barnes & Noble, Inc., with bookstores in every state across the United States, announced today the finalists for the second annual Barnes & Noble Book of...

Throwback Thursday Book Trailer: New Moon by Rebecca York

0   From March 9th, 2007 Dark secrets and parallel universes bring together a man who is part wolf and a woman who is his lifemate...from another...

Frankenstein Comic Wins Award

For immediate release: Readers' Favorite recognizes "Adam Frankenstein" by Sheila English in its annual international book award contest, currently available at The Readers' Favorite International Book...

What I Love Most About 2020 – Lisa Harris

SPECIAL FEATURE WHAT I LOVE MOST ABOUT 2020 WITH AUTHOR LISA HARRIS  Like most of you, I’m sure, I’ve been feeling as if I’ve been living...

Book Lights gets Spooky with Comic Book Author Laura Marks

Laura Marks is a PEN Award-winning playwright, television writer, and comic book writer.  Her plays Bethany and Mine have garnered acclaim from critics and been published and produced...

Penguin Random House to Purchase Simon & Schuster

In a just released press release, it has been announced the Penguin Random House Books will purchase the veritable Simon & Schuster Publishing. Here are...