Dictionary of American Regional English Complete – Finally

L.McMaken
2-17-12
Cincinnati, OH

 

Nearly 26-years, an army of field workers, a questionairre with 1847 questions and 5000 pages contained in 5-volumes is completed. Produced by Harvard University Press, the Dictionary of American Regional English is now available. Each volume in the dictionary set is roughly 5000 pages long and contains pretty much every “regional” word used in the U.S.A.

It began as a project to compile all the variations of regional English. Field workers, mostly graduate students, took an 1800 word questionnaire to every corner of the country between 1965-1970. This dictionary also known as DARE is the completion of those questions.

Some entries:

pollynose A maple seed or samara as used by a child at play, who splits it and sticks it on his nose with the wing pointing forward
pank – To pack or tamp down; to crush. Our snow is often too deep to dig a path, so we don snowshoes and stamp along snow, and finally it becomes hard and crusted enough to walk in without snowshoes. The process we call ‘panking’ a path.
dew poison – Any of various rashes or infections of the feet or legs, believed to be caused by dew; the presumed agent causing such rashes or infections; rarely, a foot disease of cattle.

The wide range of readers for DARE is staggering. Writers, librarians, dialect coaches and lingusits will find a wealth of information that had never bee available before. DARE is now available and you can purchase it here.

 

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

PODCAST: Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell

0
Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell LISTEN HERE! With over 35 stories in print, best-selling author Monique McDonnell has fun, flirty stories to...

Sis & Big Pop’s Culture: Tardis Prom, Black Widow, and Rotten Raspberry

0
https://open.spotify.com/episode/6J215N0ZeZYtmrilQXs17J A father and adult daughter dive into all things geek, nerd, and fandom. Each episode we'll discuss one of our favorite aspects of nerd...

SNEAK PEEK: THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE

0
THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE Johnstone Country. Draw Quick, Aim True. Pinkerton. Sheriff. Lawman. Buck Trammel has spent his life fighting for justice....

Holly Irish Book Review: Set the Stars Alight

0
Set the Stars Alight Set the Stars Alight by Amanda Dykes My rating: 5 of 5 stars This book is not what I was expecting at all! I...

Holly Irish Book Review: Storing Up Trouble

0
Storing Up Trouble by Jen Turano My rating: 4 of 5 stars This was a good book. I’m glad I was able to listen to it,...

Book Review: “Death & Sensibility” by Elizabeth Blake

0
“Death & Sensibility” is book #2 in the Jane Austin Society Mysteries. This ARC was sent to me by the author. It will be...

SNEAK PEEK: COLD HEARTED A TALE OF A WICKED STEPMOTHER BY SERENA VALENTINO

0
COLD HEARTED A TALE OF A WICKED STEPMOTHER BY SERENA VALENTINO This was supposed to be her happily ever after... It’s a familiar tale: A kind and beautiful...

SNEAK PEEK: STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP

0
STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP An electrifying new novel from the bestselling author of Crimson Phoenix, perfect for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor! Black Ops...

SNEAK PEEK: FOREVER THIS SUMMER BY LESLIE C. YOUNGBLOOD

0
FOREVER THIS SUMMER BY LESLIE C. YOUNGBLOOD The second book from critically acclaimed author Leslie C. Youngblood, about family, identity, and learning to stand up...

Holly Irish Book Review: A Stony Point Christmas

0
A Stony Point Christmas (Annie’s Attic Mysteries #21) A Stony Point Christmas by K.D. McCrite My rating: 4 of 5 stars This is a delightful story. I love...