J.K. Rowling to Pen Adult Novel

L.McMaken
2-28-12
Cincinnati, OH

Internationally bestselling author J.K. Rowling of Harry Potter fame, has just announced she is preparing to publish her first adult novel. She was represented in the book deal by Neil Blair of The Blair Partnership. The book will be published by Little, Brown and Company. Her mega-bestselling Harry Potter series was published by Bloomsbury and although many media outlets have posted various reasons for the switch, sources close to Rowling say she wanted a “clean start” for her adult novels.

In a statement from Rowling: “Although I’ve enjoyed writing it every bit as much, my next book will be very different to the Harry Potter series, which has been published so brilliantly by Bloomsbury and my other publishers around the world. The freedom to explore new territory is a gift that Harry’s success has brought me, and with that new territory it seemed a logical progression to have a new publisher. I am delighted to have a second publishing home in Little, Brown, and a publishing team that will be a great partner in this new phase of my writing life.”

From David Shelly, publisher at Little, Brown and Company: “…the who team at Little, Brown in the U.K., along with our colleagues David Young and Michael Pietsch at Little, Brown in the USA, are thrilled, honoured and proud to be publishing J.K. Rowling’s new book.

For me, quite simply, it is a personal and professional dream come true to be working with J.K. Rowling. She is one of the best storytellers in the world, and I am looking forward enormously to helping bring her new novel for adults to her fans and admirers, and to introducing her writing to new readers the world over.”

Many of Rowling’s Harry Potter fans are now adults and from remarks across social media, they are quite excited about this announcement. A Twitter fan posted: “I have only just heard about plans for a new book and I am already gripped.”

Booksellers the world over are very excited about the release, which is scheduled for this fall, as they see it increasing sales and helping book sales store wide.  The date and title of the book have not yet  been made available.

 

 

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

Book Review: “Death & Sensibility” by Elizabeth Blake

0
“Death & Sensibility” is book #2 in the Jane Austin Society Mysteries. This ARC was sent to me by the author. It will be...

Orbit to Publish Deluxe Edition of Witcher Novel

0
Orbit to Publish Deluxe Edition of Witcher Novel Orbit has announced the upcoming publication of a deluxe, illustrated edition of Andrzej Sapkowski’s The Last Wish, the...

SNEAK PEEK: THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE

0
THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE Johnstone Country. Draw Quick, Aim True. Pinkerton. Sheriff. Lawman. Buck Trammel has spent his life fighting for justice....

Amazon Launches Kindle Vella, Serialized Stories in a Mobile-First, Interactive Reading Experience

0
Thousands of serialized stories by authors including Audrey Carlan, Hugh Howey, and C. G. Cooper are now available, with the first few episodes of each story free to...

SNEAK PEEK: THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON

0
THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON A thrilling new crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and...

Children’s 100 Days of Reading Bus Tour Hits the Road This Summer

0
Last month, Penguin Random House partnered with Save the Children for their annual 100 Days of Reading campaign. PRH will donate 50,000 children’s books in addition to providing...

Holly Irish Book Review: Storing Up Trouble

0
Storing Up Trouble by Jen Turano My rating: 4 of 5 stars This was a good book. I’m glad I was able to listen to it,...

PODCAST:: Author Meka James & Author Lisa Kessler talk Hot Shifters & Sexy Fire...

0
Author Meka James & Author Lisa Kessler talk Hot Shifters & Sexy Fire Fighters LISTEN HERE! Meka James is a writer of adult contemporary and erotic...

SNEAK PEEK: STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP

0
STEALTH ATTACK BY JOHN GILSTRAP An electrifying new novel from the bestselling author of Crimson Phoenix, perfect for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor! Black Ops...

COLIN KAEPERNICK AND SCHOLASTIC ANNOUNCE MULTI-BOOK DEAL FOR CHILDREN’S BOOKS

0
Colin Kaepernick, renowned activist, change-maker, and athlete, and Scholastic, the global children’s publishing, education, and media company, announce a multi-book publishing deal. Brokered in...