What Scares Thriller Writers? Author Donald J. Bingle

What Scares Thriller Writer Donald J. Bingle?

Cold, Airless Death

I have two major phobias:  suffocation and hypothermia.  So the whole idea of, say, cave diving, freaks me out.  Probably the scariest thing I ever saw on television was a PBS-type show about guys who shimmy down small holes in the ground to scuba through the acquifer in Florida to see where the water for various springs comes from.  These guys are trailing their tanks behind them because the fit is too tight to wear them on their backs, they don’t know where they are going or if the space they are traveling through will be large enough to turn around and swim back against the flow to their entry point (assuming they can find it), and they have limited air/time.  Even scarier than when The Amazing Race had people going under the ice of a frozen river on the North Korean border.  At least  they had a production team and the South Korean army ready to rescue them if things went bad.

Of course, I am unlikely to find myself cave diving or on the North Korean border unexpectedly, so the scariest real world thing that could happen is to get stuck in alluvial mud.  Certain places, like the Cook Inlet in Alaska (where I have been and am likely to go in the future) have expansive mud flats at low tide.  The mud is made out of alluvial silt from glacial run-off streams and rivers, so is near freezing year round.  A feature of this mud is that when you step in it, the water in the loose mud can be expelled and the mud set instantly like concrete.  Saw a news clipping about a husband and wife who drove their pick-up out onto the mudflats with a dredge to pan for gold.  She steps out of the truck, sinks to her waist in the mud and can’t move.  Husband can’t get her out, even with the dredge, so he leaps from the truck to shore to get help.  Help arrives in force with paramedics, firemen, etc., but by then the tide has turned.  A tidal bore (a wall of water marking the turn of extreme tides in some inlets) has marched into the inlet and washed over her.  The freezing water is rising rapidly, so she is trying to breathe through a hose, while they consider amputation to get her out.  Here’s the worst part:  When they were forced by danger to the rescuers to abandon her, they weren’t sure whether she was still breathing or had already succumbed to hypothermia.

Managed to work alluvial mud into a Dragonlance tie-in story I wrote (“Dragon’s Throat” in The Search for Magic) and made a few choice comments about cave-diving in my latest novel, Net Impact, but writing about dying a cold, airless death didn’t make me feel any better.

Best known as the world’s top-ranked player of classic role-playing games for fifteen years, Donald J. Bingle is an oft-published author in the science fiction, fantasy, horror, thriller, steampunk, romance, and comedy genres. He is a member of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, International Thriller Writers, the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers, the GenCon Writers Symposium, and the St. Charles Writers Group.

Editor’s Note: Best known as the world’s top-ranked player of classic role-playing games for fifteen years, Donald J. Bingle is an oft-published author in the science fiction, fantasy, horror, thriller, steampunk, romance, and comedy. His story “Gentlemanly Horrors of Mine Alone” was the ninth story in Mike Stackpole’s Chain Story Project. Donald J. Bingle is a member of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, International Thriller Writers, the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers, the GenCon Writers Symposium, and the St. Charles Writers Group. You can learn more about Donald and his writing by visiting his website.

 

 

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

Book Review: “Death & Sensibility” by Elizabeth Blake

0
“Death & Sensibility” is book #2 in the Jane Austin Society Mysteries. This ARC was sent to me by the author. It will be...

Holly Irish Book Review: Set the Stars Alight

0
Set the Stars Alight Set the Stars Alight by Amanda Dykes My rating: 5 of 5 stars This book is not what I was expecting at all! I...

Audible and Queen Latifah’s Team Up!

0
Audible today announced a multi-project first look development deal with Flavor Unit, the production company founded by Queen Latifah and Shakim Compere. Audible and...

SNEAK PEEK: COMING HOME TO SEASHELL HARBOR BY MIRANDA LIASSON

0
COMING HOME TO SEASHELL HARBOR BY MIRANDA LIASSON An emotional novel about first love, second chances, and what it means to follow your heart from...

Join The World’s Largest Digital Book Club

0
Public libraries around the globe are connecting their communities of readers together during the next Big Library Read, the world’s largest digital book club. From...

SNEAK PEEK: IT ENDS IN FIRE BY ANDREW SHVARTS

0
IT ENDS IN FIRE BY ANDREW SHVARTS A James Patterson Presents novel Only those from the most powerful magical families can attend Blackwater Academy, but new...

Pathway to Prosperity Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/YPOhE-9jkN8 New Book Takes the Mystery Out of Money: Pathway to Prosperity Is it possible to change one’s financial destiny and legacy? Do get-rich-quick schemes...

Holly Irish Book Review: A Stony Point Christmas

0
A Stony Point Christmas (Annie’s Attic Mysteries #21) A Stony Point Christmas by K.D. McCrite My rating: 4 of 5 stars This is a delightful story. I love...

SNEAK PEEK: THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON

0
THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON A thrilling new crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and...

SURF’S UP! – There’s a Book for That: Surfing

0
2021 marks the debut of surfing at the Summer Games. The best competitive surfers from all over the world will meet at Japan’s Shidashita...