spot_img

New York Times a Digital Book Publisher

The newspaper publishing giant the New York Times has ventured into digital publishing. They are actually launching two digital programs. TimesFiles will feature eBooks based on files from their news archives. Vook is working with the NYT to launch these books.

Another line of eBooks will be published in partnership with Byliner. These titles will feature original content in a number are areas sports, business, science, health and more. The will run 10,000 – 20,000 words and are intended to be read in one sitting. Most of these titles are just slightly longer then a feature magazine article.

The first title Snow Fall: The Avalanche at Tunnel Creek by Times reporter John Branch, launched December 17th. It retails for $2.99 and is available at eBook retailers, and from Byliner.com and NYTStore.com.

Gerald Marzorati, editor for editorial development of The New York Times stated in a press release: “Our access to quality journalism and talented writers who can build on that content lends itself to the e-book platform. We are excited to deliver the very best long-form journalism to readers, in collaboration with Byliner for our New York Times / Byliner Originals and in utilizing the Vook platform for our archival e-books.”

John Tayman, Byliner’s founder and CEO added: “Byliner’s mission is to bring readers great stories by great writers, and we’re thrilled to be collaborating with The New York Times on this series of original narratives. The Times has a deep and unparalleled tradition of extraordinary journalism, and we look forward to finding, developing, and publishing many important and lasting stories together.”

Matthew Cavnar, VP of business development at Vook, stated in the press release: “The New York Times produces some of the best journalism in the world, and e-books are the perfect way to curate and collect great reporting and commentary into compelling long-form narratives, easily accessible by readers on mobile devices and e-readers. Vook is proud to help The New York Times scale production of beautifully styled e-books, quickly and efficiently bringing many titles to the marketplace.”

Look for an additional 25 titles to be released in 2013, many retailing for only $1.99.

 

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,077FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

GUEST POST: The Magic of Change: How Refreshing Your Home Can Alter Your...

0
Before I wrote In the Spirit of Home, I never really looked at home design as a form of magic. Pillows are pillows, right? And...

Book Review: “The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah

0
“The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah 1921, Texas panhandle Elsa Wolcott is 25 years old, far past the time to marry. She is not loved by her...

BOOKY CALL Celebrates Almost a Million Swipes

0
Book Discovery App to Mark Its Millionth Match as Users Swoon Over Book Dates When co-founders Brant Menswar and Jim Knight brainstormed a dating app to connect users to...

SNEAK PEEK: BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles

0
BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Mitch Albom, Charles Martin, and Richard Paul Evans, Before I Go is at once a tender...

Embracing The Magic By S.A. Schneider

0
Embracing The Magic A stunning debut book by author and podcaster, S.A. Schneider Their hero is a fraud and only he knows it. When the truth...

(Psst! Hockey Lovers!!) Good Morning Sunshine The Joey Moss Story! By Lorna Schultz Nicholson

0
JUST IN TIME FOR BACK TO SCHOOL A blockbuster duo of books by critically acclaimed Children and Young Adult author, Lorna Schultz Nicholson Good Morning Sunshine...

SNEAK PEEK: The Flower Enigma By Charles Breakfield and Rox Burkey

0
The Flower Enigma  - A book in the Magnolia Bluff Crime Chronicles Series Cyber Attacks are prevalent in this new take on the cozy mystery...

Irene Hannon Joins us to Talk About Her Latest Release BODY OF EVIDENCE

0
Welcome Irene! Let's begin with a quick look at BODY OF EVIDENCE. Here’s the one-sentence elevator pitch: When a forensic pathologist enlists the help of...

There’s a Book for That: Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

0
Visit I Am La Cultura and join us in celebrating Latinx and Hispanic authors, creators, and trailblazers whose stories are redefining identity and shaping today’s culture,...

SCHOLASTIC KIDS PRESS PROGRAM ANNOUNCES 2022-23 KID REPORTERS

0
As kids continue to navigate and make sense of complex global events as well as the goings-on in their community, staying informed and understanding...