spot_img

Reader and Author Get Together Event Huge Success in Ohio

In West Chester, Ohio at the Marriott there was a ten year celebration of the Reader & Author Get Together that has grown over the years.  Authors from all over the United States come to the intimate event to have some one-on-one time with readers, to create relationships and nurture friendships.  The event, which started out very small ten years ago has sold out over the last couple of years as more and more people hear about the down-to-earth fun and friendship available for those three magical-filled days.

Sheila English with Jocie McKade
Sheila English with Jocie McKade

 

This year the event was put on by veteran-event planner and bestselling author Lori Foster along with Linda Keller, Christy Haynes and Beth Eakin O’Neal.  Not only are there three days of getting free books, meeting favorite authors, hanging out with old friends, making new friends and buying raffle tickets for some of the most elaborate gift baskets given at such events, but the authors who help make the event happen and support it also give generously to charity through proceeds gathered during the event.photo 5 (5)

 

Each year Reader’s Entertainment Magazine sends someone to cover the event and we always start with a look at the swag.  Authors spend a lot of thought, time, effort and money to give readers something to remember them.  This year

swag included candy, books, cups, pens and a lot of new and unique items.

photo 2 (6)

Pens were a hit this year with several given in the swag bag.  We narrowed our favorites down to three with the #1 favorite being a pen that also is a stylus. photo 2 (7)

There were three cups this year with our favorite being a tall cup with lid which is extremely useful and will get a lot of use this summer given by Secret Cravings Publishing.

The actual swag bag was provided by publisher Samhain.  The bag has reinforced handles, strong canvas and a place on the side to put your water bottle, cell phone or whatever you can fit into it.  Many of the attendees were vocal about their love the fun neon green tote.

From fans to compacts and from unique bottle openers to a manicure set and cute shot glass.  Our favorite was the manicure set given by Viola Grace.photo 5 (3)

One of more unique giveaways was a CD by Chris Lee called Home which was written and performed by the artist on behalf of author Janice Maynard, written with the last novel in her Wolff Mountain series.

The event included several breakout sessions for both authors and readers including fun sessions like Paranormal Trivia, Cards Against Humanity, Bad Boy Bingo and more for readers who had a blast with games and laughter.  For authors there were chances to talk to editors and publicists as well as sessions like Built Your Hero/Heroine Workshop and If You Don’t Invest in Your Brand, No One Else Will Either.  Friday and Saturday were packed full of such events, with Saturday’s lunch and dinner the crown jewels of the event as those amazing raffle baskets were given out to lucky winners.photo 5 (4)

As always the event was a huge success for authors, readers, industry leaders and charity.photo 4 (6)

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,077FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

THE EPIC FARSEER TRILOGY COMES TO DARK HORSE COMICS WITH ASSASSIN’S APPRENTICE

0
Witness the story of ‘Assassin’s Apprentice’ told like never before The Assassin is back in this new adaptation of the first installment of the bestselling Farseer...

SNEAK PEEK: The Flower Enigma By Charles Breakfield and Rox Burkey

0
The Flower Enigma  - A book in the Magnolia Bluff Crime Chronicles Series Cyber Attacks are prevalent in this new take on the cozy mystery...

SNEAK PEEK: BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles

0
BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Mitch Albom, Charles Martin, and Richard Paul Evans, Before I Go is at once a tender...

Embracing The Magic By S.A. Schneider

0
Embracing The Magic A stunning debut book by author and podcaster, S.A. Schneider Their hero is a fraud and only he knows it. When the truth...

(Psst! Hockey Lovers!!) Good Morning Sunshine The Joey Moss Story! By Lorna Schultz Nicholson

0
JUST IN TIME FOR BACK TO SCHOOL A blockbuster duo of books by critically acclaimed Children and Young Adult author, Lorna Schultz Nicholson Good Morning Sunshine...

Random House Children’s Books Partners with Ebony Jr. Brand

0
Random House Children’s Books will publish a new line of books within the Little Golden Books imprint, in partnership with Ebony Media Publishing’s Ebony Jr. imprint, as...

Book Review: “The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah

0
“The Four Winds” by Kristin Hannah 1921, Texas panhandle Elsa Wolcott is 25 years old, far past the time to marry. She is not loved by her...

Irene Hannon Joins us to Talk About Her Latest Release BODY OF EVIDENCE

0
Welcome Irene! Let's begin with a quick look at BODY OF EVIDENCE. Here’s the one-sentence elevator pitch: When a forensic pathologist enlists the help of...

SNEAK PEEK & FIRST CHAPTER READ OF BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE

0
BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE (Pre-order now!) “That’s not my sister.” Overwhelmed by shock and relief, those are the only words Deven can muster when she...

GUEST POST: The Magic of Change: How Refreshing Your Home Can Alter Your...

0
Before I wrote In the Spirit of Home, I never really looked at home design as a form of magic. Pillows are pillows, right? And...