Book Recs for the Lovers of Downton Abbey

0
83

f you watched Downtown Abbey and you are looking for similar content, we have just the list for you!

downton abbey what life do i lead GIF

Murder in Westminster by Vanessa Riley

The first in a vibrant, inclusive new historical mystery series by acclaimed author Vanessa Riley portrays the true diversity of the Regency-era, as a widow whose skin color and notorious family history have left her with few friends she can rely on – just as the local vicar names her the prime suspect in a murder case…

A Fatal Overture by Kathleen Marple Kalb

During the first winter of the twentieth century, Gilded Age trouser diva Ella Shane refuses to dim the lights on her dazzling show business career for marriage—even to a dashing British duke. But the versatile mezzo-soprano may have to put it all on the line once murder takes center stage in Kathleen Marple Kalb’s theatrical third historical mystery set in 1900 New York City…

The Second Mrs. Astor by Shana Abé

A mesmerizing novel of historical fiction from New York Times bestselling author Shana Abé, The Second Mrs. Astor tells the sweeping real-life Titanic love story of Madeleine Force, who became the teenaged bride of one of the world’s richest men, and triumphed over tragedy and heartache.

Murder at Wakehurst by Alyssa Maxwell

In the ninth installment of the glittering Gilded Newport Mystery series from Alyssa Maxwell, during the autumnal chill of Newport, Rhode Island at the close of the nineteenth century, journalist Emma Cross discovers an instance of cold-blooded murder on the grounds of Wakehurst Mansion…

The Second Life of Mirielle West by Amanda Skenandore

The glamorous world of a silent film star’s wife abruptly crumbles when she’s forcibly quarantined at the Carville Lepers Home in this page-turning story of courage, resilience, and reinvention set in 1920s Louisiana and Los Angeles. Based on little-known history, this timely book will strike a chord with readers of Fiona Davis, Tracey Lange, and Marie Benedict.

Danger on the Atlantic by Erica Ruth Neubauer

In Agatha Award-winning author Erica Neubauer’s third wanderlust-inspiring historical mystery, young American widow Jane Wunderly, there are worse fates than adventuring aboard a transatlantic liner with the only man who could change her mind about romance. Unfortunately, her first-class itinerary has an unexpected—and deadly—addition waiting just below deck…

Miss Morton and the English House Party Murder by Catherine Lloyd

Bridgerton and Downton Abbey meet a mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie in the debut of a new Regency set series, when drastic circumstances compel Lady Caroline Morton to make an upstairs downstairs switch to become a lady’s companion, whose duties will soon entail solving a murder . . .

Reprinted with permission from Kensington Books.

Previous articleAs Book Bans Rise, a Northern California Club Creates Bags for Readers to Carry Banned Books
Next articleWomen’s voices, then and now: Join leading authors for a National Press Club Journalism Institute program looking back & ahead
Her fiction writing has received the Author / Ambassador at Library Journal Self-e Authors, Winner Queen of the West Reader Favorite Award, Amazon Bestseller - Historical, Double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Writing humorous cozy mysteries and romantic comedy, Jocie can find humor in most everything, even when she shouldn't. She lives in the Midwest on Dust Bunny Farm with her family.