Author and Reader Get Together Gives to Charity

Some events are self-serving. Some events are purely for fun. Then, there are events like the Annual Reader & Author Get Together held each year in West Chester, OH, hosted by Lori Foster, Duffy Brown and Linda Keller.

The fact that the event gives entirely to charity is enough to write a full article about. It’s wonderful to see people pull together and give to others. But, it isn’t just that. The authors, the volunteers and even the readers who attend this event give so much heart to these charities that it makes the event special in so many ways.

The charities that this event gives to includes One Way Farm, a local place for abused children and women, or people who are handicapped and need extra help. Ask one of the authors hosting the event what One Way Farm does and I promise you they will melt your heart as they shed some tears. This place is very special to the community.

Other charities include  AAFPets, a no-kill shelter and animal adoption foundation and the Conductive Learning Center.

There is this true giving spirit at this event. A love for people less fortunate and for animals.  It is a place where hope thrives and where people stand up for each other, for those less fortunate.

The event only charges $50, just enough to cover the costs of food.  The charity money comes from the sale of an anthology, which authors donate stories to, and it comes from massive amounts of donated gift baskets that are raffled off.  This year over 150 gift baskets were donated.

Of course there is that draw of meeting a favorite author or discovering a new author.  Readers get a lot of personal time with authors where they can talk and actually create a bond of friendship.

This year’s event brought in a record number to the event with over 400 attendees! Best selling authors such as Sherrilyn Kenyon and Lori Foster, just to name a few, draw people from near and far.  Over 170 authors attended the event this year! A book signing for ebook authors and another for print authors gave readers time to get autographs and chat a bit.

Publishing professionals and industry leaders also attend and there are workshops, parties and a true feel of camaraderie.

If you’ve never attended this wonderful event I highly recommend it. You can find out more at www.lorifoster.com under her “Community” section.

(Photos for this article courtesy of Kimberly Rocha)

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

Christine Feehan’s 2022 Release Schedule!

0
#1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan is a prolific writer as evidenced by this year's new releases. She just released her new...

SNEAK PEEK: THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE

0
THE INTRUDERS WILLIAM W. JOHNSTON & J.A. JOHNSTONE Johnstone Country. Draw Quick, Aim True. Pinkerton. Sheriff. Lawman. Buck Trammel has spent his life fighting for justice....

SURF’S UP! – There’s a Book for That: Surfing

0
2021 marks the debut of surfing at the Summer Games. The best competitive surfers from all over the world will meet at Japan’s Shidashita...

PODCAST: Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell

0
Writing Journeys and Penning the series with Monique McDonnell LISTEN HERE! With over 35 stories in print, best-selling author Monique McDonnell has fun, flirty stories to...

Pathway to Prosperity Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/YPOhE-9jkN8 New Book Takes the Mystery Out of Money: Pathway to Prosperity Is it possible to change one’s financial destiny and legacy? Do get-rich-quick schemes...

SNEAK PEEK: IT ENDS IN FIRE BY ANDREW SHVARTS

0
IT ENDS IN FIRE BY ANDREW SHVARTS A James Patterson Presents novel Only those from the most powerful magical families can attend Blackwater Academy, but new...

Holly Irish Book Review: A Stony Point Christmas

0
A Stony Point Christmas (Annie’s Attic Mysteries #21) A Stony Point Christmas by K.D. McCrite My rating: 4 of 5 stars This is a delightful story. I love...

Resetting Healthcare by Dr. Sanjay Prasad Book Trailer

0
https://youtu.be/CEp2i6pRXMI “Your Primary Care Physician and Surgeon May Not Always Be Right” says Dr. Sanjay Prasad What do you do when your doctor recommends surgery...

SNEAK PEEK: THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON

0
THE THIRD GRAVE BY LISA JACKSON A thrilling new crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and...

Audible and Queen Latifah’s Team Up!

0
Audible today announced a multi-project first look development deal with Flavor Unit, the production company founded by Queen Latifah and Shakim Compere. Audible and...