Debut Novels from Penquin Random House

There There by Tommy Orange

THERE THERE by Tommy Orange

Tommy Orange’s “groundbreaking, extraordinary” (The New York Times) There There is the “brilliant, propulsive” (People Magazine) story of twelve unforgettable characters, Urban Indians living in Oakland, California, who converge and collide on one fateful day. As we learn the reasons that each person is attending the Big Oakland Powwow—some generous, some fearful, some joyful, some violent—momentum builds toward a shocking yet inevitable conclusion that changes everything.

 

A Place for Us by Fatima Farheen MirzaA PLACE FOR US by Fatima Farheen Mirza

The inaugural acquisition for SJP for Hogarth, Fatima Farheen Mirza’s masterful debut novel gathers together the lives of an Indian Muslim family in California on the eve of its eldest daughter’s wedding. As Hadia’s marriage—one chosen of love, not tradition—brings the family back together, her parents, Rafiq and Layla, must come to terms with the choices that their two daughters, and their estranged son, Amar, have made.

 

Something in the Water by Catherine SteadmanSOMETHING IN THE WATER by Catherine Steadman

Erin and Mark seem to have it all: he’s a successful banker, she’s a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough; they’re young and in love, about to embark on their dream honeymoon to Bora Bora. But when, after a blissful day of scuba diving, they discover a mysterious bag filled with incalculable riches, their subsequent choices trigger a sequence of events that will change their lives—and their marriage—forever. Something in the Water was Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine Book Club selection for June.

 

Orchid and the Wasp by Caoilinn HughesORCHID AND THE WASP by Caoilinn Hughes

Dazzling and daringly original, this debut novel tells the story of an unforgettable young woman’s coming of age across Dublin, London, and New York as it brings to life the spiky and passionate voice of Gael Foess and her struggles to become her own person in the face of her dysfunctional family. Orchid & the Wasp announces Caoilinn Hughes as one of the most exciting literary writers working today.

 

Confessions of the Fox by Jordy RosenbergCONFESSIONS OF THE FOX by Jordy Rosenberg

A love story set in the eighteenth-century London of notorious thieves and queer subcultures, this genre-bending debut tells a profound story of gender, desire, and liberation. Confessions of the Fox is, at once, a work of speculative historical fiction, a soaring love story, a puzzling mystery, an electrifying tale of adventure and suspense, and an unabashed celebration of sex and sexuality. Writing with the narrative mastery of Sarah Waters and the playful imagination of Nabokov, Jordy Rosenberg is an audacious storyteller of extraordinary talent.

 

The Grey Bastards by Jonathan FrenchTHE GREY BASTARDS by Jonathan French

A raucous, bawdy, blood-soaked adventure fantasy debut that’s The Lord of the Rings reimagined by way of “Sons of Anarchy”.

 

 

 

Social Creature by Tara Isabella BurtonSOCIAL CREATURE by Tara Isabella Burton

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City. Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.

 

The Glitch by Elisabeth CohenTHE GLITCH by Elisabeth Cohen

A fast, funny, deeply hilarious debut—The Glitch is the story of a high-profile, TED-talking, power-posing Silicon Valley CEO and mother of two who has it all under control, until a woman claiming to be a younger version of herself appears, causing a major glitch in her over-scheduled, over-staffed, over-worked life.

 

 

The Ensemble by Aja GabelTHE ENSEMBLE by Aja Gabel

The addictive novel about four young friends navigating the cutthroat world of classical music and their complex relationships with each other, as ambition, passion, and love intertwine over the course of their lives.

 

 

The Pisces by Melissa BroderTHE PISCES by Melissa Broder

Lucy has been writing her dissertation on Sappho for thirteen years when she and her boyfriend break up in a dramatic flameout. After she bottoms out in Phoenix, her sister in Los Angeles insists Lucy dog-sit for the summer. Annika’s home is a gorgeous glass cube on Venice Beach, but Lucy can find little relief from her anxiety. Everything changes when Lucy becomes entranced by an eerily attractive swimmer while sitting alone on the beach rocks one night. The Pisces is a masterful blend of vivid realism and giddy fantasy, pairing hilarious frankness with pulse-racing eroticism.

 

Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas ContrerasFRUIT OF THE DRUNKEN TREE by Ingrid Rojas Contreras

“When women of color write history, we see the world as we have never seen it before. In Fruit of the Drunken Tree, Ingrid Rojas Contreras honors the lives of girls who witness war. Brava! I was swept up by this story.”—Sandra Cisneros

A mesmerizing debut set in Colombia at the height Pablo Escobar’s violent reign about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both

 

Mary B: A Novel by Katherine J. ChenMARY B: AN UNTOLD STORY OF PRIDE AND PREJUDICE by Katherine J. Chen

The overlooked middle sister in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice takes center stage in a fresh retelling of this classic novel. Set before, during, and after the events of Pride and Prejudice, this debut novel pays homage to a beloved classic while imagining a life that is difficult to achieve in any era: that of a truly independent woman.

 

OK, Mr. Field by Katharine KilaleaOK, MR. FIELD by Katharine Kilalea

Mr. Field had not intended for any of this to happen. A concert pianist, he was touring in South Africa when a train derailment fractured his left wrist, putting his career in jeopardy. On a whim, he uses his compensation check to buy a new home, a replica of Le Corbusier’s Villa Savoye built on a beach outside of Cape Town. Together with his wife, Mim, Mr. Field hopes for a new start, a peaceful life with no demands and no commitments. But as time passes, the house—which Le Corbusier designed as “a machine for living”—begins to have a disturbing effect on its residents…

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,238FollowersFollow
10,400SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertisment

Don't Miss

THE 105th ANNUAL PULITZER PRIZES IN JOURNALISM, LETTERS, DRAMA AND MUSIC

0
Columbia University today announces the 2021 Pulitzer Prizes, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board. For more information on this year’s Prize finalists and...

SNEAK PEEK: RENEW BY JENNA GREENE

0
RENEW BY JENNA GREENE The Red Queen meets The Hunger Games In....RENEW Book 2 of the Reborn Marks Series Read Renew to find out if being branded a reborn is a...

Caribbean Lit

0
Did you know that June is Caribbean-American Heritage Month? This year marks the fourteenth celebration since President George W. Bush’s proclamation in 2006. In...

THINGS MY FATHER TAUGHT ME BY KRISTINE RAYMOND

0
AUTHOR'S CELEBRATING FATHER'S DAY --- FEATURING KRISTINE RAYMOND Things My Father Taught Me ~ by Kristine Raymond I had the best dad in the world.  I...

Fifty Shades Freed as Told by Christian by E L James Debuts at #1

0
FREED: Fifty Shades Freed as Told by Christian by E L James Debuts at #1 Across All Major U.S. Bestseller Lists! FREED: Fifty Shades Freed...

Amazon: Best Books of 2021 — So Far

0
For their best books 'so far' list, Amazon editors have released their selection of book titles that were released between January and June of...

The Lost Feehan Trailers – Dark Melody, Dark Secret and Magic in the Wind

0
It's always exciting to watch book trailers and no author is more well-known for her trailers as Christine Feehan whose Dark Symphony book trailer...

SNEAK PEEK: THE BOX IN THE WOODS BY MAUREEN JOHNSON

0
THE BOX IN THE WOODS BY MAUREEN JOHNSON Amateur sleuth Stevie Bell needs a good murder. After catching a killer at her high school, she’s...

100 Worst Ideas Hilarious Audiobook Celebrates Humanity’s Horrible Ideas

0
New Laugh-Out-Loud Audiobook Celebrates Humanity’s Historical, Hysterical Stinkin’ Thinkin’ and Its Impact on Us Today https://100worstideas.com/ Veteran entertainers bring you history like you’ve never...

Huma Abedin to Publish Memoir with Scribner

0
Both/And: A Life in Many Worlds will offer her inspiring story, coming of age as an American Muslim, the daughter of Indian and Pakistani scholars who...