2022 HUGO Award Winners


The Hugo Awards, first presented in 1953 and presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.

The winners are:

  • Best Novel – A Desolation Called Peace, by Arkady Martine (Tor)
  • Best Novella – A Psalm for the Wild-Built, by Becky Chambers (Tordotcom)
  • Best Novelette – “Bots of the Lost Ark”, by Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld, Jun 2021)
  • Best Short Story – “Where Oaken Hearts Do Gather”, by Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny Magazine, Mar/Apr 2021)
  • Best Series – Wayward Children, by Seanan McGuire (Tordotcom)
  • Best Graphic Story or Comic – Far Sector, written by N.K. Jemisin, art by Jamal Campbell (DC)
  • Best Related Work – Never Say You Can’t Survive, by Charlie Jane Anders (Tordotcom)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form – Dune, screenplay by Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, and Eric Roth; directed by Denis Villeneuve; based on the novel Dune by Frank Herbert (Warner Bros / Legendary Entertainment)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form – The Expanse: Nemesis Games, written by Daniel Abraham, Ty Franck, and Naren Shankar; directed by Breck Eisner (Amazon Studios)
  • Best Editor, Short Form – Neil Clarke
  • Best Editor, Long Form – Ruoxi Chen
  • Best Professional Artist – Rovina Cai
  • Best Semiprozine – Uncanny Magazine, publishers and editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas; managing/poetry editor Chimedum Ohaegbu; nonfiction editor Elsa Sjunneson; podcast producers Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky
  • Best Fanzine – Small Gods, Lee Moyer (Icon) and Seanan McGuire (Story)
  • Best Fancast – Our Opinions Are Correct, presented by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders, produced by Veronica Simonetti
  • Best Fan Writer – Cora Buhlert
  • Best Fan Artist – Lee Moyer
  • Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book (presented by the World Science Fiction Society) – The Last Graduate, by Naomi Novik (Del Rey Books)
  • Astounding Award for Best New Writer (presented by Dell Magazines) – Shelley Parker-Chan (1st year of eligibility)A full list of all finalists is available here.

View the video of the presentation on Youtube.