spot_img

SNEAK PEEK: TIME OUT by Suzanne Trauth and Visiting Her Muses

time-outKnish Of Death.. . .

The amateur actors at the Etonville Little Theatre may be known for chewing the scenery, but restaurant manager Dodie O’Dell has something more appetizing for them to sink their teeth into. She’s been taking bows in her small New Jersey town for her theme menus, designed to complement the local productions. This fall, the community theatre is staging Arsenic and Old Lace, set in 1940s Brooklyn, so Dodie is serving up hot dogs, Italian ices, egg creams, and knishes at the weekend food festival.

All is going well until Antonio Digenza, the ex-Off-Off-Broadway director of the show, dies dramatically while noshing on a knish. As rumors of food poisoning quickly spread, Dodie scrambles to rescue the Windjammer restaurant’s reputation. But when clues point to foul play, she’s faced with a cast of suspects all auditioning for the part of DiGenza’s murderer. She’ll need to act fast to shine a spotlight on the killer—before it’s curtains for another victim . . .

The Muse(s)for TIME OUT

It’s almost that time again…it’s nearly time for the second Dodie O’Dell mystery- Time Out – to make an appearance January, 2017!

I’ve been asked about the inspiration for my mystery series and where the characters and story originate. There have been a number of muses sitting on my shoulder during the writing of these novels (decades spent producing, directing, and teaching theatre for one), but I’d like to focus on another of the most significant sources that spurred my imagination. Dodie O’Dell, my protagonist, is the manager of the Windjammer restaurant in Etonville, New Jersey. (She’s also an amateur sleuth, but don’t tell her that. She’s dead serious about her detective skills…)

Now, I’ve been told that the Windjammer’s menu is mouth-watering—some of those specials sound delectable—and have been asked if I’m an amateur chef! I have to laugh. I am, at best, a middling cook, my best friend being the take-out menu on the kitchen counter. No, my inspiration continues to be a working kitchen. A gourmet soup kitchen in a town not far from mine where I spend Thursday mornings helping to prepare meals for the sixty-five to eighty guests that frequent the establishment. There are four courses offered – appetizer, soup, entrée, and dessert. Everything is made from scratch and the results are a gastronomic delight!

Though there is always a head cook that we volunteers assist, I sometimes find myself taking responsibility for one of the courses: chopping ingredients for the green salad, preparing roasted potatoes, sautéing vegetables, and breading chicken cutlets. I’m pretty good at taking direction—being a theatre director makes me appreciate the process of leading and following— and when I’m told to add this or adjust that, I’m good to go. I’ve only had one occasion when I got a little heavy-handed with the seasonings for the butternut squash soup…The head cook had to go into rescue mode.

Needless to say I learned my lesson. I stay away from the soup…unless it’s on the Windjammer menu!

You can purchase TIME OUT at:
Kensington Books

 

About the Author:

Suzanne Trauth, Harvard Studio, Montclair, NJ. 06/27/2014 Photo by Steve Hockstein/HarvardStudio.com

Suzanne Trauth is a novelist, playwright, screenwriter, and a former university theatre professor. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and the Dramatists Guild. When she is not writing, Suzanne coaches actors and serves as a celebrant performing wedding ceremonies. She lives in Woodland Park, New Jersey.

Author Links:
Website: http://www.ekensingtonbooks.com/author.aspx/31772

Similar Articles

Comments

FOLLOW US

2,023FansLike
3,077FollowersFollow
10,800SubscribersSubscribe

Recent Book Trailers

Instagram

Advertismentspot_img

Don't Miss

Talking with Stephenia H. McGee About The Secrets of Emberwild

0
Welcome, Stephenia. Tell about The Secrets of Emberwild? In this story, a young woman struggles against the confines of her time and is determined to...

THE EPIC FARSEER TRILOGY COMES TO DARK HORSE COMICS WITH ASSASSIN’S APPRENTICE

0
Witness the story of ‘Assassin’s Apprentice’ told like never before The Assassin is back in this new adaptation of the first installment of the bestselling Farseer...

Irene Hannon Joins us to Talk About Her Latest Release BODY OF EVIDENCE

0
Welcome Irene! Let's begin with a quick look at BODY OF EVIDENCE. Here’s the one-sentence elevator pitch: When a forensic pathologist enlists the help of...

LOVE COMES TO PATIENCE IN RESIDENT ALIEN: THE BOOK OF LOVE

0
Harry finds love in the newest chapter of the hit comic series Dark Horse Comics teams up once again with Peter Hogan and Steve Parkhouse...

SNEAK PEEK & FIRST CHAPTER READ OF BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE

0
BEHIND HER LIVES BY BRIANA COLE (Pre-order now!) “That’s not my sister.” Overwhelmed by shock and relief, those are the only words Deven can muster when she...

BEHIND THE WORDS With Author Carol Dines

0
Welcome, Carol, we’re excited to have you on Reader’s Entertainment. First, tell our readers a bit about yourself. I was raised in Rochester, Minnesota, but...

SNEAK PEEK: BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles

0
BEFORE I GO By Brian Charles For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Mitch Albom, Charles Martin, and Richard Paul Evans, Before I Go is at once a tender...

SNEAK PEEK: The Flower Enigma By Charles Breakfield and Rox Burkey

0
The Flower Enigma  - A book in the Magnolia Bluff Crime Chronicles Series Cyber Attacks are prevalent in this new take on the cozy mystery...

(Psst! Hockey Lovers!!) Good Morning Sunshine The Joey Moss Story! By Lorna Schultz Nicholson

0
JUST IN TIME FOR BACK TO SCHOOL A blockbuster duo of books by critically acclaimed Children and Young Adult author, Lorna Schultz Nicholson Good Morning Sunshine...

SCHOLASTIC KIDS PRESS PROGRAM ANNOUNCES 2022-23 KID REPORTERS

0
As kids continue to navigate and make sense of complex global events as well as the goings-on in their community, staying informed and understanding...