For Mystery Fans::: PLAYING DEAD By Peggy Rothschild

0
642

PLAYING DEAD By Peggy Rothschild

Mystery writer Peggy Rothschild delivers the exciting follow up to her Berkley debut, A Deadly Bone to Pick (2022), which introduced readers to ex-police officer Molly Madison and her trusty four-legged companion Noodle after they stumble upon a murder. After using all the sleuthing skills at her disposal to prove her innocence, Molly is back to solve another doggone difficult murder in PLAYING DEAD.

Molly Madison has barely had a moment to catch her breath after moving to the sleepy beach town she now calls home. But as a former PI and an ex-cop, she can’t help but notice the odd chemistry between members of Playtime Academy on the first day she and her loyal Saint Bernadoodle, Noodle, and golden retriever, Harlow, visit. When a trainer’s body is found on-site, Molly knows it’s her duty to put her ex-police skills to use.

Relationships at the training facility are not as clean as the prize-winning agility runs, making it difficult for Molly to get a leash on potential suspects. And her personal life is just as messy— her boyfriend is hiding something, her agoraphobic neighbor needs help, and her number of fourlegged friends keep growing as she agrees to dogsit a wriggly local French bulldog.

When Molly’s friend is arrested for the murder, she’s not sure who to believe anymore. Is the case as simple as the local cops make it seem, or is something more devious afoot?

Fans of Rhys Bowen and Mary Higgins Clark will absolutely delight in this next series installment, filled with Rothchild’s compelling writing and an air-tight mystery that will have fans of murder mysteries and dog lovers alike racing through the book.

“Engaging characters and canine lore will enthrall mystery mavens and dog lovers alike.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Flawless and descriptive writing frame an enviable beach community where ex-cop, Molly, is determined to start a new life.” —Krista Davis, New York Times bestselling author

“Dog lovers and mystery fans alike will love A Deadly Bone To Pick.” —Mia P. Manansala, author of Arsenic and Adobo

“Mystery fans and animal lovers alike will delight in this caper about a straight-shooting ex-cop turned dog-wrangling sleuth. With Rothschild’s deft plotting, a sweeping cast of quirky characters, and an endearing canine duo, this is a book worth barking about.” —Tessa Wegert, author of Death in the Family


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

After losing their home during a California wildfire, Peggy Rothschild and her husband moved to the beach community of Los Osos along the central coast. When not at her desk or out walking, you can usually find her in the garden. Peggy is a member of Sisters in Crime National and Sisters in Crime Los Angeles. Learn more online at https://peggyrothschildauthor.com